We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, wonderful, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 114 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Casa Leone

My wife and I stayed at Casa Leone for three nights in early June. We stayed in the upstairs room (#5) with a private open balcony/terrace overlooking the old Venetian port – great views. Location is great; at the edge of the waterfront with plenty of restaurants next door.
The room was very charming, with old elegant motif. Large comfortable bed, a small but very functional bathroom. All very clean.
The staff was wonderful. We arrived at midnight and had difficulties finding the hotel – Anna was kind to go outside and meet us on the street and helped us settle in. She is a warm and friendly hostess. We were welcomed with a basket of wines and fruits in the room. Breakfasts were wonderful, with yogurts, fruits and more. When we told Anna we were leaving early in the morning and would miss breakfast, the staff insisted on preparing breakfast the night before to be kept in the mini-fridge.
Don’t miss appreciating the charming front courtyard. Free wifi and a guest computer in the lobby. Make sure you walk the narrow charming streets of the old city in Chania.
Definitely exceeded our expectations! Highly recommended.
Jim from Boston (Go Red Sox!)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GymSok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 577 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

My spouse and I were referred to Casa Leone by our niece who resides in England. We reside in Southern California. I have wanted to visit Crete for many years as tthis was where my father was captured by the Germans during the Battle of Crete,, World War !!. Casa Leone is a beautiful small hotel. Our room was overlooking the Harbor, and was superbly decorated with antique furniture.
The owners Nikkos and Anna were just wonderful people who made us very welcome and would go out of their way to help in any way they could. Maria also made us so very welcome and would do anything she possibly could to make our stay the best.
Would highly recommend this hotel and maybe one day be able to visit Nikkos, Anna and Maria again,

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Me and my wife have just returned from 7 days of chilled out luxury at the Casa Leone.A gorgeous building,stunning view,beautiful town and friendly staff make this the number one place to go for a special holiday(Special thanks to Maria for making it extra special).

Go there,you will not be disappointed.A+++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dumpty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Yet it still gets a five !

We were slightly concerned that the noise might be a problem (this would be hard to avoid with a room which has such a superb view of the life going on just below on the quayside) but in the end we didn't hear any.

Quite a lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonChapeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

we stayd five nights at this beautiful small hotel.the view of the hotel is amazing.great service and the breakfast was astounding.we would highly recommend casa leone to enyone.we loved casa leone.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank menoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

A wonderful place to stay in a charming town. Did not get to meet Antonia (though corresponded with her by email) but everyone was very nice to us. Great and obviously genuine hospitality.

Hiked the Samaria Gorge one day (it was wonderful) and also had to leave early on our last day (7 am flight to Athens) so had to leave before breakfast both days but staff made us breakfasts in advance previous evening.

Look forward to visiting the Case Leone again one day ...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKEMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights as part of our 5 year anniversary trip to Greece, and hotel Casa Leone was WONDERFUL! I booked 5 months out and had trouble getting the dates we wanted because the word is already out on this fabulous little boutique hotel with only 5 rooms! We were able to stay in the Estia room which was a lovely room, although it has no view of the harbor and I question the room description that says "side view". Only if you get up on a piece of furniture and hang out your window can you really get a side view of the harbor from this room. That said, it was a non issue because the breakfast room has a GORGEOUS view of the Chania harbor.

What sets this hotel apart, other than it's WONDERFUL location, is the service provided by it's owners, in particular Maria! She never stops moving I swear! Breakfast by Maria is a real treat, plan to spend an hour or so chit chatting w/ other Casa Leone visitors and be treated like royalty by Maria! Maria was wonderful taking care of us, and helping us with whatever we needed, beach towels, tour information, directions, etc. Even though this hotel only has 5 rooms, there was a laptop w/ internet access for everyone's use, as well as WIFI if you were staying at the hotel. There was also a wonderful laundry service which we used and wold highly recommend!

We wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Casa Leone, it was a WONDERFUL place to stay in Chania on Crete, which is a fabulous home base for exploring western Crete!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATLWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#24 of 111 in Chania Town
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Leone Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Leone Boutique Hotel

Address: 18 1st Side Street Theotokopoulou | Old Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: $96 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Leone Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to "Casa Leone" Hotel in the heart of the Venetian port of Hania. The entrance to the hotel is from number 18 Theotokopoulou the first side street you meet. The building, erected 600 years ago, has been restored in order to regain its original Venetian look with impressive results. The romantic atmosphere which prevails everywhere transports you far back in time. The Casa Leone Hotel is available the whole year. The rooms, double, triple and suites, are comfortable and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Leone Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Leone Hotel Chania Town
Casa Leone Chania
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing