We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Leone Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$920
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Splanzia(Chania Town)
$154
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
$189
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Porto Veneziano Hotel(Chania Town)
$191
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Porto Antico Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Avra City Hotel(Chania Town)
$153
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
$112
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$170
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
513
59
12
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
59
12
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitethe ownerold townmain balconyrecommend casaeach morningprivate terraceyogurtbreakfast was amazingsamaria gorgechania harborvenetian housereception areabeautiful hotelbeautiful roomharbour frontperfect view
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 590 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Casa Leone is a little hard to get to (you can't drive up to it) but it is well worth it. Our cab driver at the airport had to consult with his fellow drivers about how to get to the hotel. The 5-room boutique hotel on the harbor is a restored Venetian house with many original features. My husband and I had room #4 which did not have a balcony but was very quiet. Normally, though we did have access to the balcony in the main central room. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed watching the bustling harbor from the hotel, including a sensational rowboat race. The location was great with easy access to many restaurants, bars, and shops. Now for the good stuff. The hostess, Antonia, is the hotel's greatest asset. She is a bundle of energy, charm, and information. When we told her we were thinking of hiking the Samaria Gorge, she jumped in with both feet, laying out all the options. She said a reputable tour group could pick us up very near the hotel, take us to the top of the gorge, buy our entry tickets, include a guide, sell us ferry tickets, and take us back to the hotel...all for 5 euros more than what we would had to have paid if we did it on our own. So we did it and she was right. She also helped with dinner reservations when needed (everyone who likes seafood must go to Thalassino Ageri). If you had any reasonable request, all you needed to do was ask Antonia. And you will not believe the size and quality of the breakfasts she prepares, with the main course changing every morning. We could never finish everything. Being from Seattle, we are particular about our coffee and it passed the test with flying colors. All of this for 112.50 euros per night! One note of caution. If you are the type that must have every modern convenience, a huge bathroom, no stairs, cab delivery to the front door, etc., go somewhere else. Remember, this is basically a beautiful, but small, B&B. For us, this place was perfect.

Room Tip: The main choice is between rooms with or without balconies. The ones without are a bit quieter in the evening. However, each room has its own peculiarities. Check them out before you book; there is little chance to change rooms during high season.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Casa Leone for 10 nights in the honeymoon room, not because we were just married but selected purely for its private terrace overlooking the beautiful harbour of Chania.

Casa Leona is traditional, paying huge respect to its origins as a Venetian gem. With only 5 rooms, it is a boutique hotel which allows for a friendly, sociable feel but also offers privacy within its characterful rooms.

Antonia, Maria, all their small team are delightful. Welcoming guests with smiles & providing help/information about the hotel, Chania or wider Crete. The breakfasts are served primarily in main lounge/reception area and be prepared as you will be offered fine Cretan based food but far more than you'll need!

You won't find a better location for your stay. We enjoyed views over the bustling harbour from our private terrace which is well equipped. The harbour front is lively at night but our room was quiet, away from noise. Rooms are not large but are big enough & ensuites are compact but have everything you need - our room is in keeping with the origins of the building decorated in a traditional style.

Casa Leone is located in the prettiest part of the old town with narrow streets & beautiful old buildings with decorative wrought iron Venetian style balconies dripping with colourful flowers. It's a photographers dream. We spent some days walking, exploring east & west along the front & others meandering around the small lanes of the old town. We hired a car for 7 days which also allowed us freedom to discover the surrounding area of western Crete. We particular liked the beach at Kalathas as it attracted less tourists, more locals & provided a constant sea breeze, safe swimming & all we were seeking for our days on the beach.

We hope to return to Chania & would love to stay at Casa Leone again.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a private terrace overlooking the lovely harbour. It offers sun & shade depending on your choice.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank R0se33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I chose this hotel carefully after reading many hotel reviews in Chania and I was not disappointed!

I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel except have one key piece of feedback for the hotel which I hope will help future guests, particularly solo travellers like myself. It was almost impossible to find on your own! Unfortunately, I arrived very late at night after my ferry from Santorini was late in arriving into Heraklion. I had asked the hotel previously how to get there from the bus station, but the instructions did not really make sense, and Google maps has this hotel's location incorrect - a warning for travellers who rely on this. The hotel really should have a map that they can send travellers which clearly shows where they are located, particularly from the bust station.

The room upon arrival was lovely - very elegant personal touches to the room. The shower is very small which is a warning to guests who are very tall - but fine if you're tiny like me :)

Wifi was okay - intermittent but good enough.

The breakfast was what REALLY impressed me - see my photos for an overview - a selection of breads, pastries, condiments, cakes, orange juice, coffee (good coffee too!), eggs and the best Greek yoghurt of my trip.

The hotel is right in the middle of the action - perfect for exploring Chania. Plenty of amazing restaurants around. And the owners are extremely helpful and friendly.

If you want a good sleep in at this hotel though, you may not get it. The rooms all back onto the dining room and so from 8.30am there is a lot of hustle and bustle directly at your door. But not a big issue, just something to be aware of - this is a boutique hotel and so everything is very close to everything!

But great place - have already recommended it to my family and friends - the best view in Chania I reckon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liztiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is one of the best places you can stay, no word about that. If you're about exploring Chania, shopping or having romantic evenings near harbor that's the spot to have it all. More than that, this is probably the best place we stayed for that money in our lives. Whenever visiting Crete we will be back to Casa Leone for a few nights at least. There is a myth that this part of the city is noisy and that is not truth at all. At this point I must say that we visited Chania at beginning of June, never July or August. We maximally enjoyed every minute at this superb hotel where everything is so nice and in right place. Real gem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanningtonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Leone. It was our last stop at the end of our two week Honeymoon in Greece. We were a little tired from our travels and Casa Leone really took care of us. Each money morning they made us a delicious Greek breakfast. They were very helpful and always asked about our days. Our room was very spacious and very well taken care of. We highly recommend Casa Leone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews