We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bozzali is a welcoming small inn in a beautiful town.”
Review of Bozzali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bozzali
Ranked #45 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
cactusjock56
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The Bozzali is a welcoming small inn in a beautiful town.”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I spent 7 nights at The Bozzali. Antonio, the Italian owner, is a wonderful host. He has many years experience in the hotel business and knows how to look after his guests. The hotel is in an old building right in the heart of the old town, a two minute walk from the splendour of the Venetian harbour. Antonio plays great music, on vinyl no less, and the breakfast room doubles up as a small wine bar in the evening. He has an excellent selection of Italian wines. Breakfast is copious and the rooms are comfortable, and well equipped, with a fridge and TV. I loved my stay here and will be back. Chania is quite enchanting. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactusjock56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
75
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have just spent two nights here and I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about this small, well-run hotel. Charming building and rooms, tastefully furnished, with modern conveniences (Wi-Fi that actually works for once), decent breakfast, quiet location in the old quarter, only 5+ mins away from the waterfront, 20 mins to the beach, good restaurants in the immediate vicinity (much better than those on the harbour which you should avoid), ultra-helpful and friendly owners, good value at Euro 65 a night inc. breakfast. It's not difficult for taxis to find as long as you get off on Sifaka (in front of the hotel's restaurant and besides, there is a prominent sign for the hotel itself). A very happy couple of days in Hania! Thank you, Luana !

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Very nice hotel.
Nicely furnished. Large room.
Very good breakfast.
Friendly owners.
Well located in old town.

Only possible drawback is a lot of steps to rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We took the overnight ferry from Pireaus, arriving at 5:30 AM. Taking the bus from Souda Port to Chania, we walked from the center park area down to the old harbour, enjoyed a little breakfast there at an early opening cafe while the sun came up, and walked the short distance to the hotel. A cab driver, helping some customers, gave us a clue as to the direction, but the hotel really was fairly easy to find. We were able to leave our luggage there at 7:45 AM which was a big help and set off to see the town. The room we had was up a couple of flights of stairs, but beautiful in an old building, charming way and very clean. Exactly the kind of place we were looking for, not luxurious, but clean and comfortable, lots of charm, friendly, helpful staff, good Greek-style breakfast. And, while no views (at least from our room), otherwise a great location, easy walking to most of the old town area. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtnSmithColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonecollector
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We spent 5 nights at the Bozzali Hotel and recommend it 100%! It is in a great location - a quiet part of the old town, and only 5 minutes walk to all the action (restaurants, the Venetian Port, etc). It's a beautiful old building too. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was great.

One thing - as others have mentioned, taxis will have a hard time finding this street if that's how you're arriving. It's a small street and cars can't go on it, so bring a map that you can use to figure out where to be left off.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2009

This hotel was in a great location in Old Town Chania. It was only a few minutes walk from the harbor and far enough from the busy streets so that your sleep wont be disturbed. Since my brother and I were walking about the whole day, we only needed a hotel to sleep and rest. This hotel did that for us. The bathroom was larger than your average Greek bathroom, so thats always a plus.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwong04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

First, I will say that the rooms were impeccably cleaned, everyday. They were basic, no frills and not exactly luxury, but more of a traditional room. My husband I were there on our honeymoon, and Luana left us a bottle of champagne in our refridgerator. Her and her husband were about the only friendly Greeks that we met our entire time in Crete. (the Greeks were very friendly on the other islands; I'm not sure why everyone was so unhelpful and rude on Crete) Breakfast was fabulous; she pressed fresh orange juice while you waited and had the best cookies, along with the expected Greek yogurt, coffee, fruit, cheese,etc. My only complaint was the street noise. I had read another complaint about this, so I booked a room facing the courtyard, but to the best of my knowledge, all rooms face the street on one side or the other (?). At all hours of the night we heard motorcycles racing by, people speaking loudly in the alley below our room, dogs barking and cats crying. I even woke up to hear Turkish music being blasted at 3:30 am and smelled incense strongly burning. (all this with earplugs in).This could maybe be remedied with a window fan to block noise. Also, don't go to the cafe/taverna directly across the street from bozzali. They don't have any menus (so no prices 'in writing'), so they rip you off when you want to pay your bill.

All in all, it was a nice, basic place to stay and very good value for the money. We would definately come back.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — street noise, hard bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nutmeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#34 of 109 in Chania Town
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 109 in Chania Town
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#18 of 109 in Chania Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#54 of 109 in Chania Town
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 109 in Chania Town
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Suites Hotel
Pandora Suites Hotel
#36 of 109 in Chania Town
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bozzali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bozzali

Property: Bozzali
Address: 5 Sifaka, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bozzali 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Bozzali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bozzali Hotel Chania
Bozzali Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing