We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ONTAS Traditional Hotel
Ranked #53 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ontas traditional hotel is near the old harbor of Chania. It is clean. If you rent a car is the best choice. You can park in the free public parking place near ontas hotel. From the fist time you feel like your home. also in the refrigerator was a small bottle of local alcohol. The girl in reception is very friendly. I hope that will soon come back and visit Ontas traditional hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for ONTAS Traditional Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a bedroom for three and it was really nice and spacious! The location is great and quite local compared to the old Venetian area nearby, which we found a little too touristy. The owners daughter spoke fluent English and recommended us to lots of great restaurants and also helped us to book really good tours to Samaria gorge and balos lagoon! We were lucky enough to have an open food market right outside the door before we left as well, and we brought back so much local honey, olive oil and herbs!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank all-food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Ontas as the hotel we were originally at didnt have an available rooms for an additional night. The morning of our check in we dropped our bags off and left as our room wasnt ready. we where told reception was open only between 9-2 & 7-8 but a mobile number could be called and someone would come back to check us in etc. we arrived back at 5pm and called the number for 1hour with no reply.eventually we found an alternative number & it took someone another 30mins to come to the hotel & check us in. He was very apologetic.
Location fantastic but can get noisy at night as bars around
Clean rooms
Wifi didn't work in room but worked when you went half way down staircase
Reception staff that night was very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We only stayed for one night but would have happily stayed more. The owners daughter greeted us warmly and spoke excellent English. She showed us to our room which she had upgraded due to a cancellation. It was lovely, spread over 3 floors and was tastefully furnished with its own balcony. The location was a short stroll from the beautiful harbour and old town.
We were also given plenty of advice on where to go, restaurants etc. There was a communal kitchen where you could make a basic meal if you were planning on staying longer with butter, bread, milk and tea that you could help yourself to.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for the room with its own balcony, we didn't see the others and I am sure they...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A nice place, a good location and a nice welcome. The rooms, in a rustic style, are fine and cold, but there's no AC in the common areas so, enjoying them is not an option. As there 's no permanent staff, you don't always get support when needed. Located by a bars area, in summer can be noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaliciaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I had a nice stay an Ontas hotel. The room was spacious, and in a good location (walking distance from the harbor, but far enough away to not be too busy). The manager was super helpful, she was very knowledgeable about the best places in Hania, and also with good tips for beaches farther afield. The accommodations were good for the price, probably 4 stars for value, but the great service bumps it up to an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwkloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I think that Ontas is comfortably situated in Chania. Next to the Venetian Harbour of Chania and Old Town. At the same time, it's very close to the parking site of Anatoliki Tafros, that is reaaaaaaally important for Chania town.
From the first moment you feel the "family" spirit of Ontas, as there are only 4-5 rooms. They are tradionally decorated and you feel like living in the past 100 years.
Filia, the lady at the reception, is maybe the kindest person I've ever met! She helped yus organize our trips and suggested us 2 nice taverns (even locals don't know them) which are the best you can have (best value and food)
I hope that will soon come back and visit Ontas!

Room Tip: The top floor has a two storey-room, very cosy and warm!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#58 of 111 in Chania Town
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#40 of 111 in Chania Town
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Filoxenia
Hotel Filoxenia
#75 of 111 in Chania Town
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#26 of 111 in Chania Town
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#46 of 111 in Chania Town
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ONTAS Traditional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ONTAS Traditional Hotel

Address: Epimenidou 11 & Ikarou, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $67 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ONTAS Traditional Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional hotel Ontas is a restored Venetian architecture building in the old town of Chania, Crete. Being in a unigue residential group where the guest can enjoy the co-existence of Venetian fortification and mansions, Turkish mosques and minarets, the unique Neoria as well as the modern neoclassic buildings of the early 19th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your ONTAS Traditional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ontas Traditional Chania
ONTAS Traditional Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing