We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tertipi - CLOSED

Tertipi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: "" TERTIPI "" is a traditional Cretan restaurant that combines friendly enviroment with amazingly delicious meals.In a place that has more than 400 years of history. You and your friends can enjoy your lunch listening traditional Greek music. We are the only place which you can order your drink and we will serve you small portions of food from our menu for free. We cook only with local Cretan products.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stumbled across this place because we liked the street away from the over-touristy harbour front in Chania. Had an excellent meal cooked and served by the family. Eggplant soufflé was wonderful as was the 'too spiced chicken' and the pork with orange. Excellent value for money also. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    24
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food in warm family atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This small restaurant became our discovery of two-weeks vacations in Chania. We had shepherd's salad, appetizer made of lamb and tertipi chicken. Everything was wonderful! Meat (both lamb and chicken) was very delicate and tasty. We also were positively surpised by prices (25 € for meal including wine). Must visit place in Chania!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gecko_Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lucky find in Chania old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were hungry, tired and had a picky toddler in tow, when we happened upon this wonderful family owned and run, restaurant, in Chania. The building was a hammam, 600 years ago, and is historically very interesting inside.We found out from the lovely owner, that Tertipi, means Flirting. We had Idiotropia, a huge portion of eggplant souffle, which was puffy and crusty and cheesy. Pure heaven. We also had Tertipi chicken, indescribable...delicious. The whole experience was warm, familiar, and positive.
Highly recommended. Large portions of delicious food, served in a congenial outdoor and indoor environment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank maya v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seriously good food from a small, back street restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited this restaurant after a bit of research on TA looking for something away from the main harbour areas in Chania. Have to be honest Tertipi didn't look promising on first arrival - we were a little early in comparison to the Cretan locals and were only the second table seated at that time. The harbour side cafes and restaurants were already full to the brim.
Aside from this unpromising start the restaurant really did deliver on flavoursome food at what we felt were very low prices. It wasn't our goal to eat cheaply but at around 52 euros for five Tertipi was a real bargain for the quality of food they delivered. All the food was cooked to order and zinging with freshness - service was very friendly and attentive and as it was the chefs saints day they treated us to a "special" version of the standard deserts at the end of the meal - a fresh chocolate mouse cake affair that was very yummy and to die for !
In order to sample as many local tastes as we could we decided to make up a meal of selected starters for our group of five and were not disappointed with any of the dishes which were all delicious.
I have no problem therefore in recommending this small restaurant to everyone where the focus is very much on tasty local foods. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnonFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Restaurant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The restaurant is very good, the food is specially tasty. It's a Nice street, with a little bit of traffic noise. The food is different between other restaurants, because it is a less traditional.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeTreFisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tertipi also viewed

Parigoria, Chania Town
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing