We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little period apartment in Chania”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House 66 sitting area House 66 sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
House 66 sitting area
House 66 sitting area
main bedroom
main bedroom
ground floor bedroom
ground floor bedroom
bathroom
kitchen and balcony
balcony
roof terrace
view from room terrace
roof terrace
House 66 exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TrishaVar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little period apartment in Chania”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

We stayed at House 66 for 3 nights in June. The booking process, reaching there & getting in were very quick & smooth mainly because our host, Natalia, was extremely responsive and detailed in her instructions. She also met and gave us the local's perspective on things to do, places to go to & places to eat in - all of which we followed, uncovering some hidden gems (Marathi beach, the drive to Phalasarna, the Old Market) in the process!!
The location of the house is just perfect - it's on the edge of the quaint Old Town & at the end of the picturesque Theotokopoulou St, both of which are beautiful places to wander around in for days. It's also a stone's throw from some of the best eating places in Chania (with some of Chania's best restaurants not more than a 10 min walk), a 20 min walk to the beautiful lighthouse & amazing views of the sunset & just around the corner from the most buzzing part of Chania. There is a free parking at the bottom of the street, a super market 2 min away & the Old Market a 10 min walk away for fruits, veggies & meats of your choice.
The house itself is full of character - a period house which traces some of its foundations way back to the 16th century! The renovation of the house is very informatively & interestingly documented in a book. Along with some other very informative books (including a fabulous one on Greek cooking that I'm searching for now!) very thoughtfully provided by the host. And it's very well done up with all modern conveniences.
The much-talked-about balcony is as stunning as in the photos - there are lounging chairs & seats to easily seat a family of 4. Even during the day, the balcony remains partially shaded, so you can spend good time lounging & looking out at the changing colours of the sea! And the sunsets from the balcony can become the highlight of your day.
The staircase to the 2nd bedroom is a little too winding to easily carry up & down large suitcases. And the communal space on the ground floor for a family to sit together or hang out is quite small. So we ended up doing most of our sitting together on the balcony, which was 2 floors up though.
All in all, a lovely stay at Chania. And a place we would recommend, especially for couples or smaller families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2018
Thank you so much Trisha for such a detailed review, it will help our future guests. We are happy to know the house met your expectations. In summer afternoon and evenings are amazing in Crete, and our balcony is just the right place to enjoy evening them. We hope to have a chance to welcome yo again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamikahun...
usa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historical place and close to everything!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Location was great-once we found it.. The owner left a bit of written history on this centuries old house but would have loved to know more. Comfy beds.
Tiny, but completely updated modern bathrooms. Stairs inside were extremely narrow and steep. Nice view from kitchenette balcony and rooftop deck. It was a welcome surprise to have a cleaning person come halfway through our stay. Chania, Crete is beautiful and this was a wonderful property. Thanks for your hospitality Natalia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thank you very much for your review, we are happy to know you appreciated the hsitorical charm we tried to kept in the house and its boutique features. We hope to have a chance in future to welcome you again and share with you history of the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2018
Thank you John for taking time to review your stay in our House 66. It is a pleasure to know you had a nice stay and enjoyed the views. Hope to have a chance to meet you again in future and recommend many other things, Crete has a lot to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeoffC53
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in this charming property ”
Reviewed October 20, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a great 4 night stay at house 66.

Natalie explained everything when we arrived & made us feel at home.

The location is superb, close enough to the bustling harbour area but more peaceful.

Apart from the shower taps being a bit confusing to operate the rest of the amenities couldn’t be faulted.

Wonderful views from the roof terrace.

Hopefully we will get to return to this special part of the world.

2 Kiwis

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2017
Hello Geoff,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay in our House 66. We are happy to know you enjoyed your vacations and hope to have a chance to welcome you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMHLondon
london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect little house on the edge of Chania old town and harbour”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in this two-bedroomed house for five nights and it was, for us, the perfect location in Chania. Much of the old town boasts boutique shops, boutique hotels and delicious little restaurants. House 66 just teeters on the edge of this tourism - down the road you can eat well, shop well, and then return to a haven of calm and coolness (thanks to efficient air con). The two terraces look towards the sea and the restored Venetian battlements - the lower terrace just off the kitchen allows a breeze in off the sea whilst the spacious roof terrace has extensive views. Each bedroom has a very comfortable bed and ensuite shower room. The kitchen is compact but extremely well equipped. We cooked dinner and ate in on a couple of nights - having shopped for food at the colourful covered market at the southern extreme of the old town. The nearest beach is about eight minutes walk along the sea front and all museums are also within walking distance. All in all, the perfect place to stay in Chania.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2017
Thank you very much for taking time to review our House 66. Such a detailed feedback will for sure help our guests to make a write choice. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to have a chance to welcome you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariosfou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect town house in Chania with amazing view”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The house is very conveniently located by the Chania old harbour. There is a big parking lot by the house but was full most of the time. We left our car at another parking space further east, roughly 5mins walk away.

However, the house is close to most restaurants, bars and cafes. You can walk pretty much anywhere in Chania from there.

The house is very nicely decorated and has a lot of A/C units, which can be very handy on hot days. The beds are comfortable but the bathrooms are a bit small. There is a small kitchen with most amenities, most notably an ice cube maker, but not big enough to cook comfortably a meal for 4 people.

However, the highlight is the huge terrace with great sunset view (despite the electricity pylon on the way). Make sure you buy a couple of candles as it can get a bit dark at night.

I would definitely recommend the house if you want upmarket in town accommodation for 2 couples of 4 friends that don't mind sharing double beds.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Dear Marios,
Thank you very much for taking time to review our House 66. We are happy to to know you enjoyed our roof terrace, which definitely has one of the best views to the sea in the part of the old town. House 66 is a boutique style property, and is equipped accordingly, providing everything necessary for a comfortably stay to its guests. The house is 50m away from the big public parking, but it might take some time to find an empty slot during summer months.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabimarsh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“More than average, but not Very good”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Delightfully situated away from the madness and bustle of the harbour, and at the end of the old high street. so a very good location for restaurants, cafes, shops moments away.
I would describe the accommodation as minimalist -, the bedrooms are comfortable, very good beds, Excellent and much needed air con. we used the bedroom - ensuite upstairs. I found the stairs quite steep (age of the house) so would not recommend to anyone who needs strong banisters to aid them, likewise the metal 'escape style' stairs to the roof terrace, also very steep. There is no shade on the roof between 11 am - 7.30pm ish, No umbrella or awning to shelter, so we were unable to use the space as we would have liked in the middle of the day to come back and rest. Found the sitting area on the ground floor not particularly comfortable. The kitchenette was fine for the two of us, but certainly I couldn't have cooked - simple basic and limited, A tiny fridge; doesn't hold much at all, no where for ice cream. A wine cooler-cabinet helped for chilling water, keeping fruit and dairy cool. Natalia was very helpful in getting car hire for us that genuinely offered a family personal touch - but that's another story!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Hello Nick,
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words. House 66 is adults only property exactly for the reason you mention, roof terrace and staircase. We do not put umbrella for safety reasons, as sometimes it is windy in Chania and it might be dangerous. It was a pleasure hosting you are we are looking forward to welcome you again!
Natalia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing