We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Mezedes (especially at lunch time)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalderimi

Kalderimi
Ranked #49 of 406 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Kalderimi restaurant opened in 2000 at the historical Theotokopoulou street,with purpose to serve original,traditional flavours to the customers. After many years of experience,it progressed without losing its traditional character and started offering new creative suggestions to the beloved customers. The decoration of our restaurant suits perfect with the old town's element. The combination of good food and pleasant service will make it one of your favourite spots.
Brit in France
Level Contributor
230 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great for Mezedes (especially at lunch time)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Whilst on the island of Crete this is the only restaurant where we more than once! We we not dissapointed the 2nd time. The daily specials are limited, but the Mezedes were tempting and satisfying each time.

Special mention for the Boureki, that I loved and am now trying to make at home!

One of the few place to have the island's only 100% local German beer (Yes, it's made on the island, but guided by the German Beer purity laws, it's called Brink's, after it's owner/maker). As much as I felt the Brink's was a truly fine beer, I couldn't get enough of Mythos, although it's not such a tasty beer (I'm like that with vietnamese beers too, prefer the stuff for local consumption, rather than the expert quality!).

Pleasant service and a nicely presented dessert, and Rakomelo instead of the usual Raki with the bill. Highly recommended for an unpretetentious bite to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stopeter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    50
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food at a nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here the first night of our stay in Chania and it certaintly will not be the last. The food was freshly cooked and delicious. The house wine was tasty and the atmosphere was laid back and relaxed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Movemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toscana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too many defects”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Well, at the Hotel we received a suggestion for this restaurant for the evening as "the best restaurant of Chania", usually that sounds funny... In past when we heard similar presentations we decided to go to the restaurant ready to find some "surprise". We read also here on tripadvisor some reviews (4, too few for a correct evaluation, we thought ) where somebody wrote about good food, great service and cheap prices in this restaurant so... Well, let's go there! Unfortunately we found other: the food is pretty normal. The Boureki seems to be not too genuine, indicated as one of the "dishes of the day", probably they prepared it the day... Before, then warmed it in a (microwave?) oven: the upper side was totally dry and was very hard to slice it with flatware, the rest was really less warm than the upper part... The Moussaka have been served in a dish, like an italian "lasagna" (like in some cretan fast-food chain) and we surely tasted best flavour in other restaurants in Crete... Then we ordered the fish, another dish of the day: roasted squids(?) rings with vegetables: was only 10 (ten) rings of squid with 6 (six) small slices of roasted vegetables... That's really not enough for a dish sold for 12 (twelve) euros! Anyway, we take also one small decanter of house wine (white, not so bad) for two and a small bottle of table water. At the end of the dinner, a complimentary with some (tasteless) watermelon slices and some Raki (no complimentary cakes or sweets, to be precise). Finally the location: they placed us in table placed in a downhill where not only the chairs were in unstable equilibrium but also dishes, glasses and every thing on the table needs to be blocked to prevent falling to the ground (see the pictures!). Consider also that wall pieces have fallen often on the table... Ah! Ah! Ah! How to say... Sincerely, maybe in another table you'll find less troubles, but food is not genuine and the portions are really too small: consider to pay 30€ per person but you'll still have hunger. It's really hard to save this restaurant! There is a lot of better choice in Chania.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Luc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Best service ever! PLEASE EAT HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I ate at the Kalderimi three out of the four nights we were in Chania. The one night we ate elsewhere, we came back to the Kalderimi shortly after and shared the awful experience we had at the other restaurant, and we re-ate supper here! Food is prepared with VERY fresh, local ingredients, and the staff is fantastic. Niko and Petro (our waiters) brought us free dessert and Raki (similar to Ouzo, but much better if you're sharing it with the waiters!), and they even added us on Facebook! We became good friends with them because no matter if you're a tourist or a local, they make you feel like family, and a simple restaurant helped make our trip to Chania fantastic.

All this to say, absolutely fantastic restaurant. The calamari and the Greek salad were my favourites, with the Tsipoura (daily fish) leading the way in the main course category for me.

PLEASE EAT HERE!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eagermike93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My sister and I first spotted this restaurant when exploring the back streets of the old port of Chania, and determined to come back for a meal. It's fairly close to all the touristy places on the waterfront, but couldn't be more different in terms of atmosphere; it's quiet, unhurried, simple yet picturesque. There's a small outdoor area for seating and a small indoor restaurant. The food was wonderfully fresh, and the menu more eclectic than the typical Greek taverna. All the food we tried was excellently prepared and delicious. The people at the table next to us had the same experience, and they had different selections.

We were there on a Wednesday evening, which for years has been the regular night for a large group of French expatriates to reserve a big table inside. It was a little hectic for the staff, but made for a lively time. For an even more relaxing experience, another evening might be a better choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Pendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalderimi also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kalderimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing