We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as we hoped”

Christianna Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 448 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Christianna Estiatorio is a traditional,typical Cretan,family fish restaurant in the heart of Chania. On the coast of Koum-Kapi(few meters from the old harbor of chania and,not so crow ted from tourists)we invite you to celebrate the flavors and hospitality of Greece,like the Greeks.Try our specialty "BOUREKI" and the other traditional Cretan dishes,like lamp"Kleftiko","Mousaka",stuffed tomatoes and stuffed wine leaves"Dolmadakia". Also you can have a variety of sea food dishes,fresh grilled dorada,octopus,calamari,grilled cuttlefish and our mix fish plate. Enjoy you lunch and your dinner in our outdoor sittings overlooking the coast of Koum-Kapi We choose for you the best house wine from local winery's and the best type of OUZO in the Greek market. All ingredients into our recipes are locally grown and produced vegetables and herbs.Fresh local meat and sustainably caught fishes. Everything is cooked only with Cretan olive oil. Enjoy the sea view from the coast of Koum-kapi!
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had read great reviews of Christianna's and had high expectations that were not met. The service was poor although the restaurant was not busy when we arrived. The order was not taken correctly and then, after our starters, they offered to bring the bill - they had forgotten our mains! Maybe we made a mistake by ordering the selection of meals served on one plate. The food was all heaped together and therefore lost the distinction of flavours.

Being generous, I think we had an unfortunate experience - the other diners seemed happy with their selections and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mobinsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina211, Owner at Christianna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are very sorry you had an "unfortunate experience"as you say although it was not in our intensions. Maybe this happend because you wanted to mix and try over 4-5 different dishes in the same plate instead ordering separate porcions.That had as a result to mix fish and meat together.
Additionally we would like to say that we never offer to bring the bill but only if the customer ask for it. Propably the waiter misunderstood some kind of your waiving. However we will be very happy to see you again.
Best regards,christianna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 512 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

had a great family meal at Christianna's with grandparents and kids. everyone found something they liked, including all-vegetarian options. it's easy to choose from the warm counter where you see exactly what you get. prices were great and location which is off-center is has a neighborhood to feel to it which we prefer over the bustling harbor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H2K12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina211, Owner at Christianna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your good words. We will be very happy to see you again in our restaurant. Your opinion is valuable to us,thanks again.
Best regards,christianna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice place, very friendly and helpful stuff, great food and very reasonable price. The big advice for me was the possibility of combining two dishes at one plate :).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristina_Agnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina211, Owner at Christianna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Your opinion and your advices are very important to us. Hope to see you again.
Best regards,christianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A new place for us in Chania. They take a definite risk by having the menu only in Greek and inviting the people to see the possibilities of the day in the kitchen. The mother in the kitchen was all smiles and the atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. Will definitely go there again when visiting Chania.
The plates were big. I have seen kataifi-dough (you know the haystack-dessert?) only in sweet desserts, so the entre of making a kind of spanakopita with this dough was a good variation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsKlimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina211, Owner at Christianna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your good rating.We appreciate your opinion and is very important and valuable to us. we hope to see again.
Best regards,christianna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found the restaurant in tripadvisor.
It didn't let us down, we really enjoyed the original Greek food freshly made.
We strongly advise this place. Hope to come back back one day!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gibbonsindk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina211, Owner at Christianna Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We are really happy that we didn't let you down after you red about us on Tripadvisor and you desided to visit us. We hope so that you come back next year. Thank you very much.
Best regards,christianna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christianna Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Christianna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing