We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Achilleas

Achilleas
Ranked #59 of 406 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

During Our 2 weeks stay in July we did eat in this placw a few times. We only returned to this and one other restaurant (Manos). They served high quality sea-food (did not try meat). Polite and frndly waiters, reasonable prices. The lobster With spaghetti is higly recomended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    35
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a fantastic family run restaurant. ALL the food is excellent and reasonably priced. The owner takes great pride in his immaculate kitchen and will show you round if you want.
We ate there several times during our 14 nights in Chania, the menu is immense all the Greek favourites' loads of FRESH fish, salads and steaks all finished off with a complimentary dessert and local raki, our only regret was not finding it earlier in our stay.
Would definitely recommend you go there it's the BEST.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently great local food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've been coming to Chania for summer vacation almost every year over the last 10 years and have been eating at the Achilleas (the owner's name, by the way) family seafood restaurant with its gorgeous sea view ever since it opened. We love the special Cretan salad for 2, fava bean puree, aubergine salad, fresh local greens (horta), mixed fried vegetables and much more. And for seafood: grilled or fried calamari, grilled octopus, whitebait, sardines, steamed mussels (tried this year in a very more-ish garlic sauce), mixed fish. And when we've pushed the boat out and ordered some of the more expensive fresh fish we've never been disappointed. For kids who prefer pasta, meat and chips, there's everything you could want--younger daughter has had almost every kind of chop or steak and was always satisfied. Everything is freshly prepared, simply presented--no frills to cover up poor quality ingredients--and brought to the table as soon as it's ready. Achilleas, his brother and their children--we've watched them grow up--meet, greet and serve. Achilleas's wife heads up the kitchen. On our first day back each year we get a really genuine and warm welcome. And what's always encouraging is the number of locals, so many of them known to the family, who eat there. We really tested them one year when our daughter had her Bat Mitzvah at the Chania synagogue, the last remaining functioning synagogue on Crete. Achilleas put on a fabulous lunch for 25 friends and family, ably catering for everyone's dietary needs. It turned out to be one of the most memorable events of our lives.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyL1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Achilleas is at the far end of a street of tavernas not far from the local harbour. It was well worth the visit. The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive. The location is opposite a lovely sandy beach and we were able to watch the sun set as we enjoyed our evening meal. The atmosphere was very relaxed and traditional as the majority of customers were locals - praise in itself!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best seafood restaurant, logical prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really authentic greek food at its very best , wide range of seafood i tried the tang seaweed the grilled octopus ,fried calamari ,spaghetti with shrimp and fresh sea urchins , and the very best stuffed wine leaves that i have ever eaten. Everything i tried was very tasty and traditional.The service is very good, as its a family run business the owner himself or his young daugher are more than willing to assist you with a wide smile .The atmosphere itself is some-what magical ,right on the beach of Nea Chora you can hear and watch the waves hit the beach ,this with a glass of wine makes you completely relax and appreciate your tasty meal even more.If you want to try very tasty and authentic Greek seafood and unwind this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank anna2013Hania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Achilleas also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Achilleas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing