We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Taverna Kavouras

Taverna Kavouras
Ranked #49 of 419 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We loved this restaurant in Chania - great food, great atmosphere and very nice staff. Angelo, the maître d', was a top man with a fine sense of humour and we hope to return. Best, Hazel and Tim from UK

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    81
    26
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise at very touristy location”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The venetian harbour of Chania Town is beautiful but you do expect average food at high prices here as it looks as a tourist trap. Not at Angelo's taverna - we ate the best starters cretan style here, followed by exceptionally fresh and well cooked fish/seafood. Highly recommended place if you want both the view over the harbour and good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olga_from_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and really Fresh Fish”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After going to a few Restaurants down the old Harbour of Chania we found that Kavouras Restaurant was by far the best, the fish was really fresh and delicious, the prices were by far the cheapest we found in the town, the service was excellent A+ and the Quantity of the food was more than enough, we would really recommend this restaurant to anybody that would visit Chania Town.

A+X
From Larnaca, Cyprus, August 2013.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place to enjoy”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited Kavouras tavern three times during our stay and every time the food was very tasty. In the menu there was many kinds of things to choose. As a friend of deserts I couldn't be happier with all those amazing ice cream portions.

Atmosphere in Kavouras was very warm. The staff was working with the smile on their faces. We chose this place just because of that warm atmosphere. We definitely come back next time :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liinup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Chania Town, excellent food provided by a great staff”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Located on the beautiful Harbour of Chania Town, Kavouras was an unexpected surprise. Angelo and the rest of the staff make you feel as having dinner at a friend's. Typical Greek Taverna providing really tasty dishes. After a few days having dinner at Kavouras, we feel sure that wharever we will choose from the menu will be tasty. For sure next time I will be in Crete, I will be there again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rui_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Kavouras also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Taverna Kavouras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing