We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Sun Hotel
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Came here beginning of May just myself and my husband. First impressions where good. Checked in with no hassle helpful receptionist who gave us all Information required. The room was nice very clean and we'll maintained. We did swap for a sea view room though which was beautiful all brand new refurbished. You could still smell the fresh wallpaper just spotless. Beds were so comfy, beautiful shower, fantastic view over the sea and town. The food is fantastic really delicious and you get so much. The staff are very polite friendly and helpful. I really can't find anything severely wrong here I've paid much more for 5 star establishments and got far less. Just wish they had actual room service instead of fetching it yourself. Breakfast has a large selection and the pool is brand new and kept extremely clean and spotless I would definitely come back two big thumbs up for the royal sun. They also provide a free mini bus into town and back :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    129
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
69
342
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hotel sits on the mountains overlooking the port of Chania; the view is fantastic. Breakfast, which comes with the room price, is delicious and plentiful. The restaurant, the terrace of which overlooks the pool, the city, and the sea, with side views of the mountains behind, serves wonderful food in large portions. The rooms are clean and nice, and they even provide a new pair of slippers to keep your feet warm on the cool tiled floor of the rooms. Nice people, nice place; would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The rooms above have a better view, but the rooms below have a little sitting area overlooking the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraviataGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bersenbrueck, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week just recently leaving. It was the best experience we have had at a hotel worldwide. The housekeepers told me "Welcome" when we arrived which was early and they were ready for us. Every staff member was extremely kind and courteous. The cleanliness was super....the food was awesome....and we hope to go and stay for a week every year now....and we are not normally the kind of people who go back twice...we like to go somewhere new every time...but we will definately go back to Royal Sun and Crete. We used the shuttle every day and every time they were spectacular...the view was worth gold but the staff will keep the customers coming back!

Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement and booked the most discounted rooms and they were fabulous...I think ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendralu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

What a great view from every room on the front side of this hotel as well as the restaurant and outside restaurant balcony! Beautiful sunsets! Wonderful staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Breakfast buffet was excellent and plentiful. Hotel and rooms were extremely clean. Food from the restaurant was very good, large servings and free dessert and raki. Pool was very nice but the water too cold to swim. Very relaxing hotel away from the downtown area. We had two different rooms and neither bed was very comfortable....too hard. That is my only complaint. The second bed was better...foam type. Shuttle is helpful. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the foam beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Visited the hotel with my wife very recently and it was an absolute worth for money, service and quality. The rooms were impeccably clean, and the staff was courteous, helpful, fluent in English and ever ready to help.

Special thanks to Nickolai (hope the spelling is correct) and both the hotel shuttle drivers, who were really helpful, charming and very hospitable. I had extended discussions with Nickolai about not many things being open and probably better co-ordination of tourist services that co-insides flights and tourists. Despite bad weather and not many tours, etc. available, the hotel staff and owners helped us in best possible way to make the best of our Chania vacation.

Pros:
1. Free shuttle to/fro to the city centre every 30 mins, from (10:30-00:00)
2. Clean and modern rooms
3. Awesome view
4. Amazing Staff
5. Huge food portions at restaurant
6. Large balcony in the room.

Cons (Nothing really, but if I were to be critical):
1. Breakfast buffet could have been better for 8EUR
2. Bathroom were small, compared to room size, but still acceptable.

Would absolutely recommend this place and would visit again. Loved Chania, Greek hospitality and food.

Room Tip: Take sea facing rooms for breath taking views of the city. The mountain facing rooms will give you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I try to stay here every time I go to Crete. The view is the best in town, the restaurant is superb and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is good but the dinner menu is what keeps me coming back. Cretan food is so much better than Greek food. Don't worry about a view, every room has one!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the restaurant. The marble walls really transmit the noise. The northeast si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklet, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I had a blast when I stayed at this hotel. It's not a bad cab ride back from the clubs/bars at night. The staff was friendly, food excellent and I hope to make this trip again in 2015. Conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strozfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
6.8 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.0 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sun Hotel

Property: Royal Sun Hotel
Address: 36 Paizi Gianni, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Royal Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sun Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing