We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and style”
Review of Avra City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avra City Hotel
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

After one night there before travelling onward in Crete I wished I had booked more nights before returning to Hania, bound for the airport. From the hotel you can reach the bus station, for the airport bus, in ten minutes, and can easily find the old town and harbour by turning right out of the hotel, crossing the main road at the bottom of the slope, turning left and then right, down pedestrianized Moussuron street. You would be fortunate if at the hotel desk you were greeted, as I was, by the charming Deputy Manager, Katerina Perraki. My room was clean and comfortable in all respects, though the bathroom could not have been much smaller; the view out over the Municipal gardens was better than looking at the street! The dining room was easy to find and stocked with all the essentials for a tasty continental-style breakfast; facing the checkin desk there is a comfortable seating area, toilets downstairs behind the desk, a luggage room nearby, and the whole place has the air of a calm refuge from the bustling city around it. The hotel facade has elegance and character, and my brief stay was pleasant in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to write this review!
What gives us great pleasure and satisfaction are positive people and comments on our services and staff!
Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to Avra city in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Until recently this was the Minoan Hotel but now under new management and has been upgraded to present a very modern and airy hotel. Everything was clean and our fourth floor room had a balcony facing a small park with singing peacocks and long horned goats to entertain children and their parents. It's also a couple blocks away from the old port city and very much in the centre of modern Chania with seemingly fewer tourists. The staff I dealt with were friednly and professional. This is rated a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grivola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chaniotaki, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avra City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Chania and for taking the time to write this comment.
We are very happy to read that you found our welcome warm and enjoyed our rooms and facilities!
We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed.
We thank you again for your review and we really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Avra city in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel has a certain air of faded elegance about it.. Rather imposing facade, intricate wrought iron mid-20th century elevator doors... etc. It has perhaps seen better days; the decor is a bit run down in places (room carpeting, for example).

But as long as you don't require gleaming state-of-the-art 21st century luxury, it's a quite reasonable and economical place to stay in Chania. All the room facilities work fine.

Rooms have balconies with, at least in our case, a pleasant view of the municipal gardens with Cretan goats and peacocks on display. Free breakfast was quite good; fried eggs and sausage as well as the usual buffet stuff. (I do like my fried eggs)!

Just a few hundred feet from the boundary of the Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtenkfarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

When we visited Crete we stopped one night in this hotel. Booking hotel before we left England.
Very nice hotel with underground parking.
Reception was very good telling us where abouts to eat.Only 10 mins to walk in to old town.
Beautiful harbour and stunning at night.
The only down side was that there was a party on in the park right outside our window, we came back about 11pm and was told that it would be finished in about 20 mins, so we went out again came back 40 mins later went up to our room and it was still going on the music was quite loud, my husband went down and complained. It didnt finish till gone 1pm.
The reception did apologise the next morning, but it did spoil our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Minoa hotel is an old renovated hotel, which is situated 10 minutes from city centre on food, The rooms are nice and clean, and the staff is very friendly. For it's class they keep a very good level of service. Breakfast is good but it needs little upgrade. Another advantage is that the hotel offers underground parking for the customers which is rare to find in the city centre. Free wifi is available in the hotel as well as a mini bar in the rooms.
For a week's stay I was very pleased and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent hotel. 5 minutes from the old town and harbour. Breakfast was excellent. As much as you wanted and a wide variety of things to choose from. Friendly staff. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
13.7 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra City Hotel

Address: 23 Stratigou Tzanakaki, Chania Town, Crete 731 34, Greece (Formerly Minoa Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: $97 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avra City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Avra City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra City Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing