We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent base for Chania”
Review of Avra City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avra City Hotel
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel has a certain air of faded elegance about it.. Rather imposing facade, intricate wrought iron mid-20th century elevator doors... etc. It has perhaps seen better days; the decor is a bit run down in places (room carpeting, for example).

But as long as you don't require gleaming state-of-the-art 21st century luxury, it's a quite reasonable and economical place to stay in Chania. All the room facilities work fine.

Rooms have balconies with, at least in our case, a pleasant view of the municipal gardens with Cretan goats and peacocks on display. Free breakfast was quite good; fried eggs and sausage as well as the usual buffet stuff. (I do like my fried eggs)!

Just a few hundred feet from the boundary of the Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtenkfarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 123 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

When we visited Crete we stopped one night in this hotel. Booking hotel before we left England.
Very nice hotel with underground parking.
Reception was very good telling us where abouts to eat.Only 10 mins to walk in to old town.
Beautiful harbour and stunning at night.
The only down side was that there was a party on in the park right outside our window, we came back about 11pm and was told that it would be finished in about 20 mins, so we went out again came back 40 mins later went up to our room and it was still going on the music was quite loud, my husband went down and complained. It didnt finish till gone 1pm.
The reception did apologise the next morning, but it did spoil our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Minoa hotel is an old renovated hotel, which is situated 10 minutes from city centre on food, The rooms are nice and clean, and the staff is very friendly. For it's class they keep a very good level of service. Breakfast is good but it needs little upgrade. Another advantage is that the hotel offers underground parking for the customers which is rare to find in the city centre. Free wifi is available in the hotel as well as a mini bar in the rooms.
For a week's stay I was very pleased and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent hotel. 5 minutes from the old town and harbour. Breakfast was excellent. As much as you wanted and a wide variety of things to choose from. Friendly staff. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Comfortable rooms with nice balcony. no safebox but we knew it from before. There are a lot of insects in the area and sometimes the bathroom has insects inside that come through the window, hpwever room was clean.The breakfast is very good for a 3 star hotel and the lobby is also very nice. The toiletries could be better quality. They don't have nice smell.The area is quiet and safe and it's a nice 5 minute walk to the harbour. There are some shops in the area which is nice for some shopping. It would be nice to have key cards instead of the big key which is not convenient to carry with you all the time. It was a wonderful stay overall. Thank you for your friendliness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 270none
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having spent many visits to Hania, this was our first stay at The Minoa.
It is a quiet and tranquil oasis in what can be at times a noisy and frenetic city; especially closer to the harbour, even though it is less than ten minutes walk away..
Very spacious balcony room with views overlooking the park.
The free underground parking is a real and rare bonus, as finding a parking space in Hania centre can be a test of endurance.
Friendly and informative front of house staff - even the housekeeping lady had time for a chat and a laugh.
One of the best breakfasts we've ever had in Hania.
I dispute other comments about the A/C - we used a room fan, which suited us very well, even when outside temperature must have been mid 30's .
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrisme62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
13.7 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#56 of 111 in Chania Town
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra City Hotel

Address: 23 Stratigou Tzanakaki, Chania Town, Crete 731 34, Greece (Formerly Minoa Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: $96 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avra City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avra City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra City Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing