We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LITTLE BIT OF A LET DOWN” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akali Hotel Chania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akali Hotel Chania
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A LITTLE BIT OF A LET DOWN”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The hotel was a let down as it was not what you see on their website,rooms are very old they need to be renovated,the air- con sounds like a tractor and our room faced the road, all you see when you look out is deserted old buildings. All the staff were very kind and helpful and I must say the room was clean.I would rate the hotel a two star.Pool very very very small with only five sunbed and a terrible view around the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
33
56
4
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moyock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Okay so I booked this hotel last minute with high expectations. Boy was I disappointed. First off my arriving flight was canceled and I had to arrive a day late. I called to see if I could be reimbursed for the night I would not be here. They said sure, but had to charge a cancellation fee, which was more than the credit I would be owed so I would have to pay them more money! I said no way and just arrived a day late with my existing reservation and was out the cost of 1 night. Upon arrival I asked if, since I arrived a day late, I could just check out a day late. She said sure, but they would charge me! Talk about lack of customer service!

When I booked the reservation I paid extra to have a double/pool view room. We were assigned a room on the 4th floor and wouldn't you know it, there was no double bed and no pool view. I called down and the woman said I was right that I paid for a pool view room, but there were none available and she could move us the following day. Okay, mind you...I have already paid for the room the previous day and not showed up, so they gave away the room I paid for and would not reimburse me!!!! Talk about shady business. I asked to simply be reimbursed for the money I paid for the pool view and she said she could move me the next day and would not reimburse me. Oh my god, seriously? Do the Greeks believe in making a customer happy, or just taking there money and not giving them what they pay for?

Okay, now, after she said she had no rooms available, she calls us 20 minutes later and said she had someone checking out and could give us our pool view room. Great...

Pros: Great location in Central Chania. Easy walking distance to most everything. A local beach within a 10 minute walk, city center within 20 minute walk, grocery stores, mini marts, restaurants.
Wifi is free, and we had a free breakfast. Breakfast was probably the best included breakfast I've ever had! No joke, Turkish coffee, american coffee, fresh squeezed OJ , eggs, breads, greek yogurt, fruit, feta, tomatoes, cereal, bacon little sausages. Great breakfast! The pool is cute, quiet and hardly anyone ever there. The main part of the hotel is beautiful...but wait til you see the outdated gooms!

Cons: Small rooms, terrible A/C, teeny tiny shower, gross carpet that smells of cigarette smoke, terrible customer service, only ever give you two towels, hard beds...oh there is free parking, but its simply in front/side of hotel and if you get there too late its all full. This is definately not a 4 star hotel, I'm not really sure how they call it 4 stars, but maybe pushing 2.5. It is definately not appropriate for more than 2 people in a room, there is no couch, only a small table and chair...unless they have bigger rooms available.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are better, seem to be better furnished and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed there for a five days a few months ago, but I should have written then that this is a wheelchair accessible hotel, run and serviced by kind and helpful people. The hotel bears the name of a Cretan goddess, and is most probably protected by her, as, when I had a small problem with my belly, I was taken care off by the cook and served with lapa, well boiled rice, the only thing I could take. I was very much at home at Akali, and I look forward to stay there on my next visit to Chania, one of the most beautiful towns in Greece!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SPYRIDON-OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

A10 min walk to most restaurants and the harbor. Rooms adequate and comfortable . Breakfast fantastic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Assisted with organizing a private 4 hour trip to Aptera and the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank krharris2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just returned from Chania. Akali hotel is just 10 minutes walk from Chania harbour. We had family room(two connected rooms). My children are 9 and 11 years and this type of rooms was ideal for my family. Rooms are very clean and tidy with every day maid service. They provide all the comfort of 4 star hotel with shower gel and shampoo.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. They are always ready to give you information and help you with maps and directions. Also Mrs Fotini is around the hotel to make sure that all the quest have good and comfortable stay. It is town hotel with few disadvantage like view but we expected that when we have booked town hotel. It seems that all business people stay at this hotel because it is offers good value for money. Also I have noticed football teams stay at Akali because it is in the town and offers the best quality compare with other hotels.
In my next visit to Chania I will stay again at Akali

Room Tip: Swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOLAS T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in August 2011. We paid 75 euros per night for our room, which also included a good breakfast. The decoration is a lttle tired, but the room was always kept very clean. We didn't have any issue with noise, although our room overlooked the pool rather than the road. The pool is small, more for a quick dip. However it is a 10 minute stroll to the beach. All in all, we felt it was very good value for money.

What I would emphasise is that the hotel staff were tremendous. Nothing was too much trouble, and they went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one.

It is well located for the main sites in Chania town. The hotel only has a handful of car parking spaces, but it was pretty easy to park in the nearby streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DidgeAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 24/12/11 - 01/01/2012 and we have only good things to say about the hotel. We were a pary of 6 adults and 1 baby. We arrived very early in the morning and we were given our rooms immediately and we were pleasantly surprised that even thogh the hotel has no obligation they allowed us to have breakfast at no extra charge. The rooms are spacious and clean and i had no problem with the baby cot provided for my little girl. We would like to giave a special mention to all the staff that made our stay wonderful as half the family came over from South Africa. They were helpful in every aspect wether it was for simple information or any type of service provided. Even though they were working during the holiday season and i am sure that they would all want to be with their respective families they welcomed us with pleasant smiles, curtesy and were always polite.
For an added bonus they gave us new year cake and also allowed us to check out late at no extra charge as our boat was departing late in the evening.
Thank you to the staff of the Akali hotel , we had a wonderful stay and when given the oppertunity we will definitely come back. The Family from SA Gregory,Irene,Eleni,Maria,Zak,Ioanna and baby Anastasia

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nowell929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
13.1 mi away
Spilia Village Hotel
Spilia Village Hotel
#28 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#39 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akali Hotel Chania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akali Hotel Chania

Property: Akali Hotel Chania
Address: 55 Kissamou str., Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akali Hotel Chania 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to AKALI HOTEL a very recently refurbished 4 star hotel and conference centre, located very centrally in the beautiful city of Chania which in the recent years apart from a very popular holiday destination, has been transformed into the new corporate centre of Crete.Close to old Chania port and our famous traditional market, our hotel has been a very popular establishment, offering accommodation of the highest standard for more than 20 years.Either for a business trip or for a relaxing holiday, AKALI HOTEL is the ideal place to stay combining modern and spacious rooms with excellent facilities and services of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Akali Hotel Chania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akali Hotel Chania Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing