We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little guest-house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Duca Hotel
Ranked #4 of 91 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little guest-house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed two nights in the run-up to a conference and was not let down by the previous reviews. Room on the top floor was well appointed with a small kitchenette. Best feature was a private terrace with hot-tub. Very friendly staff. Room was quiet - minor noise during the day (solar panels changing position?) but nothing to detract from the overall experience.

Chania lovely too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
137
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our only regret is that we could not stay longer...Our room was spacious and beautifully restored with modern amenities but an old world charm. Everything was spotless. Our terrace had a nuce view of the harbor which made the room feel even brighter. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The location was great, close to restaurants, shops and the harbor but the room was quiet at night. We hope to come back someday and stay a long time at the Palazzo Duca Hotel in Chania Town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank djsmjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Clean hotel, nice furnished, friendly stuff, good location, they even started serving breakfast on remand. Overall its a great hotel and i recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the old town of chania.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elenalimas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Really beautiful hotel in great location in Chania just off the harbourside Staff fantastic Restaurants and shops on the doorstep We got a great deall for £55 per night We have travelled all of Greece mainland and many islands and as far as small towns i would definately say Chania is the best It's small so a few days 2-3 There are also lovely town beaches within 20-30 mins walk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsonsglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very charming hotel in autentic Chania style with lovely staff. We arrived very late without informing the hotel and the receptionist was still waiting for us even though reception closed severak hiurs earlier. We came for our honey moon and had a nice surprise in our room.

Rooms are very clean and very well decorated. We had a nice qooden balcony also with partial view on the harbour.

Definitely a great decision to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiruba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos I, Owner at Palazzo Duca Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are always glad to hear that our guests had a nice time. Thank you very much for all of your kind words, and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Plazzo Ducca Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel is very clean located within the old town of Chania. They provide a wonderful breakfast and free wifi. Very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgos I, Owner at Palazzo Duca Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many thanks again for staying at "Palazzo Duca".
We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and thank you for your kind words.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for only one night . It is the most beautiful place. The owner and other staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are furnished to the highest of standards and very tastefully designed- no expense spared- a real gem in the heart of the old town of Chania. The bed linen was luxurious and we were delighted to find a little kitchenette in our room- very useful and welcomed for making tea, a sandwich and having a fridge. Live it and will definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoddess2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#20 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#2 of 91 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Duca Hotel

Property: Palazzo Duca Hotel
Address: Douka Str. 27 - 29, Old town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Duca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Duca Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing