We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting hotel with an even more interesting owner..”
Review of Rodon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rodon Hotel
Ranked #25 of 107 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An interesting hotel with an even more interesting owner..”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have recently returned from a week in Chania. The Rodon Hotel is a small family run hotel which offers a friendly welcome and is situated in a quiet relaxed setting. The building is very interesting and was designed by an architect from Florida. Although a little out of Chania, the town can be reached on foot (downhill!) in about 20 minutes or there is a bus outside the entrance which runs about every 20 minutes and only costs 1 Euro 10 - highly recommended as driving in Chania is a nightmare. Rooms are clean and simple. There is a bar upstairs which offers fabulous views of the town and the mountains beyond. You will be offered a welcome drink on arrival and Georgia, the owner, can give you any information about the area. Check out the fish restaurant on the beach. The swimming pool is the best I have seen at a small hotel. We would be very happy to stay at the Rodon again and would recommend it to anyone looking for peace and quiet.
One word of warning if you are travelling from Chania Airport by car. The road from the airport through to Chania goes straight passed the hotel but the entrance is not easy to spot. Look out for the Shell garage on the left hand side of the road and the entrance is shortly after that. Should you get to the BP garage you have gone too far!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taylors94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
69
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rodon Hotel for one night only at our arrival in Crete.We had a late flight to Hania airport and the hotel is conveniently located on the Main Street to Hania but not so far from the airport, which worked perfectly for us.We were offered a welcome drink at our arrival and enjoyed it on the terrace at the first floor.The room,pool view,was essential but clean.Breakfast buffet was ok,fresh orange juice was a plus!Good value for money,would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el3nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A 15-20 minute walk to the city Centre. This hotel welcomed us like kings. Nice room and great installations. Breakfast was great. I would come back or refer friends. A little hard to find at first but once you do...they will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days there on a business trip. I have mixed feelings about this hotel:

Pros:
- Nice swimming pool.
- Friendly staff.
- Easy parking.
- Clean rooms, sheets and towels.
- Interesting room layout (although it's not to everyone's taste).
- Conveniently located between the city and the airport.
- Good value.

Cons:
- Hard to find (you have to cross a BP gas station to get to the hotel!)
- Our room was very close to the swimming pool, hence noisy.
- There is no hallway to the rooms, people getting to and from the reception pass directly in fron of the room doors.
- There are a couple of (battered) chairs but no table in the balconies.
- Breakfast had limited choices and was the same every day (boring...).
- In four days, only one soap, one small bottle of shampoo and one small bottle of shower gel were available for two persons.
- A faint sewage smell was present at various points throughout the day.
- Very noisy air condition system.
- Hard mattresses.

I will probably not stay there again.
-

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I made the reservation after i have read all the other comments. When we arrived (after an hour of meaningless searching) the exterior was quite nice. Large pools, trees etc. But when i entered the room i panicked. I could not stay there not even for a night. It was small, dirty, uncomfortable. The bed was supposedely double, but in reality it was tiny!!! The mattress was hard as wood and spiderwebs all over it! The sheets and cover of the bed were clean but had holes on them and the bathroom was too small to fit in. The sink was IN THE MAIN ROOM!!!!!! Just don't ever go there. We left immediately!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeeevvveee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Rodon Hotel 4th to 11th June. A wonderful small hotel just a 10 minute bus ride from the old town of Chania. Rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast fresh, and the best swimming pool for this size of hotel I have seen. What makes the Rodon stand out is the amazing service the family owners provide. Nothing is to much trouble for them. A great place to stay to explore Chania and the Akritiriou at very good prices too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1a9t7t8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was fantastic in every way. Large room and, although the bathroom itself was a bit small, the washbasin just outside the bathroom had lots of space for toiletries etc. Excellent service, great breakfast.
The hotel is built on the style of many American motels with the corridors overlooking the gardens which are fantastic. Both inside and out, you will find the most amazing collection of unusual plants and cacti.
The staff just couldn't do enough for us, it was at this point in our holiday that I realised the cigarette lighter on the hire car wasn't working, meaning I had no way of charging my mobile 'phone. No problem, they were able to loan me a mains adaptor so problem solved.
From the hotel it's about a 30 or 40 minute downhill walk to Chania old town and the return bus drops you right by the hotel.
Definitely a hotel we'll be returning to on our next visit to Crete.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Monte Vardia
Monte Vardia
#33 of 108 in Chania Town
146 reviews
4.0 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#10 of 108 in Chania Town
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#59 of 108 in Chania Town
53 reviews
4.6 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#19 of 108 in Chania Town
376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#23 of 108 in Chania Town
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodon Hotel

Property: Rodon Hotel
Address: 92 Akrotiriou, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodon Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing