We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glossitses

Glossitses
Ranked #18 of 406 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had some appetizers for a late lunch and all we had was very good. We ate in many places along this strip and while Glossitses is good I'm not sure that it's any better than any of the others and their menu is much smaller.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lancasterdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    351
    121
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Go a little further down the old port to Apostolis instead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I tried Glossitses tonight for the first time based on Trip Advisor and other recommendations. The food was fresh and good, and the young waiter very hospitable. I told him that I would come back for sure with my family that was arriving in 3 days and would be in Chania for 2 more months. Shortly after that, the owner brought the check without my asking for it, the first time I can remember this happening in nearly 40 years of living and vacationing in Crete. Was it because he thought I was a tourist only here for a short time so would likely not come back (most of his customers were not Greek, normally not a good sign)? Or was it because I was a single female, and he would make more money by hurrying me out (it was still early with a few empty tables but starting to fill up)? Regardless, it was such a sour ending to a good meal that I won't go back. Like in previous years, when my family arrives, we'll go frequently to Apostolis where we have always had excellent food and warm service and the best complimentary desserts in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherylxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Remember the taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited last year but still remember the taste of the delicious food we had,did nit read any reviews before but we were passing by and thought to give it a try,everything we had was full of taste,try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpyrosB937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Small menu wth great local dishes! Great stuff. Very interesting place with great view at old port of Chania city. Don't miss it! This place is NOT a Tourist Trap!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilita-Fenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great, fresh food worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

After we read the evaluations on Tripadvisor we desided to eat here and it really was a wonderful experience. The location is great, and it really felt as a relief that no overenthousiastic waiter was trying to talk you in. Christos was helpful in explaining the concept of Glossitses. Eveything is fresh and organig an they don't use the microwave. We had the fava with caramelized onions. Because i could not decide on the fresh tuna or mussels as a main course, Christos recommended to take the mussels as a started and the tuna as main dish. Not a bad suggestion. Everything was very tasty icluding the house wine. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Movemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glossitses also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Glossitses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing