We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went last night and we want to go there again tonight!”
Review of Glossitses

Glossitses
Ranked #16 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Emba, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went last night and we want to go there again tonight!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had read the reviews and by chance I spotted the restaurant when we were walking around the harbour, we weren't very hungry and felt a little out of place being the only guests at 8pm on a Friday evening however the place has a comfortable ambience, the intimidated salad (really that is the name) was a little odd but the mussel dish for two (a bit like a paella) was delicious. We then chose to have the cheese from the appetizer menu as dessert and the owner was more than happy to prepare for us. We would definatley return. Good value. Beautifully presented. Excellent service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    359
    122
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food,average sevice.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Foods are good but average service.Ashtray changed once in 4 hrs.well heated restorant at winter.i will visit in summer,lets see the difference :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nighthawk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous local organic/bio food cooked perfectly”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a fantastic place to seek out for a lunch meze or evening/dinner. A warm welcome that makes you feel that you're a regular, and you soon will be after sampling the food. Lovely fresh local organic produce, cooked very very well with simple flavours. A simple, no hassle, atmosphere and ambience...which is refreshing after walking past all the tavernas touting for business in the old harbour. A great direct sustainable partnership between restaurant owner and fishermen. Lovely location on the harbour just down from the old customs house. Being a non meat eater and wanting to have locally sourced produce I have found the perfect place to eat. However Glossistes should be a restaurant/taverna destination for anyone visiting Chania or living in the area as I do. I will certainly be making many return visits. Be warned, in the summer season after 9pm is very very busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great local food with a bit of twist, fresh ingredients”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We ate lunch here twice. Both times the food and the service was excellent. A lot of nice starters to share with your friends. They seem to use local / organic ingredients which is always nice. After trying half a dozen different local white wines, I found only the decent one in here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank picasasuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Each time a winner”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Supurb food and friendly service in an idyllic part of the inner harbour. Fusion cuisine at its best - with high quality produce and wine that matches the excellence of the food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnEnglishmanInGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glossitses also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Glossitses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing