We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Chania Town
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
168
117
24
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
168
117
24
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews british embassy roof terrace minute walk old town breakfast room hotel is located bigger room historical building the bus nice stay car hire three nights excellent hotel the hotel offers fresh fruit the ground floor nice breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 325 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2016

My wife and I stayed here in early October as part of our honeymoon. A very cool antique-looking hotel with nice rooms.

Location is not bad. A little outside the main part of the city, but walkable. It is on the way to the airport. There is a nice restaurant for fish just down the hill and around the corner and a great place for gyros and all sorts of food with extremely good value just a few minutes walk in the other direction. There is plenty of parking in the area, including just a few spots inside the hotel gate.

Service was quite good during our stay. One of the days the power actually went out (someone crashed into a power line pole out front). Candles were placed throughout the hotel and breakfast was pulled together just as good as any other morning! The ladies clearing the tables and setting up breakfast were great. One of the gentlemen at the front desk even came up to help us with our European phone ignorance, which was much appreciated.

The pool was okay, but only good for sitting in to cool off due to the size. It has jacuzzi jets, but is cold. They are quite powerful, which makes for some rooftop entertainment. The whole rooftop area is nice. If you are looking for some swimming, we made a couple trips out to Marathi, which has a nice beach area and restaurant right across the way.

Not much to complain about, but the morning of check out left a small sour taste in our mouths. We had quite a few line items of extras billed to our room (most were legitimate). We went through them verbally before getting our receipt after the fact which unnecessarily added to the time and confusion. The confusion stemmed from being charged for "laundry". Originally it was made to sound that we did a bunch of laundry, but the charge was only for 2 euros and turned out to be for pool towels. Not that 2 euros will break the bank but we didn't really need them and weren't informed of a charge. The man at the front desk just gave us a weird look, shrugged and said it's 2 euros. Thanks guy.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank r00ptr00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

The rooms were clean, great service and very helpful staff, always happy for a chat and give some great recommendations.

Lovely rooftop seating area and beautiful tranquil garden area.

Parking at rear in complex or on street, short stroll to chania town.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank JorgieGuirguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

We love this hotel. Off the beaten track but walkable to the old town. Near the best Fish Taverna in Chania. Helpful hosts. Clean, quiet and spacious room in historic building. Always happy to be staying here.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeantwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

A lot of noise. We didn't sleep. We complained about it but nothing changed. Moreover,the breakfast that supposed to serve until 10:30 had been finished on 09:45. You could not find almost anything to eat. We ask about it as well but they just blamed the other guests that they took things from breakfast outside of the hotel so this is why the breakfast finished earlier.We don't recommend this hotel

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank marypM5488UY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstantinos C, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Halepa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2016

Dear Mrs Mary,
Thank you very much for your reviews (because you try in every social media to do) . I believe that it is very easy and safe behind your computer to write facts that are not real. About the noise, we are by far the most quiet hotel in town, as it is surrounded by gardens. You stayed just a night to us and we didn't have other rooms available to change you and this is something that irrittated you. We never ignore our guest's requests. About the breakfast, sometimes is needed time to refill the buffet, the breakfast was not finished but there has been a refilling procedure that takes 5 - 10 minutes.
We are sorry that you have those feellings. We believe that staying just a night in a hotel is very difficult to judge and as you mentioned before you go, it was also a matter of rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016

This hotel certainly deserves all it's good reviews. Very clean, really comfy beds and pillows. The air con is really efficient. Staff are friendly and really helpful. Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices. It's in a lovely area, a pleasant 25 minutes walk to the Old Town via the shore. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews