We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We booked for 3 nights and stayed for a week!!”
Review of Doma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doma Hotel
Ranked #27 of 102 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We booked for 3 nights and stayed for a week!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We normally booked larger, faceless hotels with gyms etc, however proximity to Chania was more important on this trip and reviews of this hotel were excellent. We were not disappointed. The staff are all lovely and welcoming and the hotel is a beautiful building, very well maintained and oozing with charm. The rooms are simply decorated and neat with lovely wooden floors, are spotlessly clean and there is plenty of storage space. The thick, double doors from the hallway to the bedroom result in a very quiet night, and we were adjacent to the lift on the same floor as breakfast is held every morning, and never heard a thing! As a result, we can't comment on quality of breakfast! The bedrooms and bathroom are quite small but well maintained and perfectly adequate - a lovely balcony (we were at the back of the hotel), excellent air conditioning and a room fan allowed us to stay comfortable in the heat of July. We parked right outside but could walk into the old town in 10 minutes along the seafront promenade past a small beach. There is ample choice for bars, cafes and restaurants along Chanias busy waterfront and into the old town,. We highly recommend Portes restaurant (next to Amman in the old town) and would suggest those looking for good food and coffee, steer clear of the restaurants directly lining the harbour, as many are tourist fodder and extremely poor quality for the money. The hotel is also well located for those wishing to travel in Crete and you can easily access the national road to get to the west and south coast, of which Elafonisi in the south is just beautiful. We can't imagine anyone finding fault with the Doma, for the money, the hotel is excellent value and well located and all staff, particularly the manager, are extremely helpful and willing to assist. We booked in for 3 days for a city break but the charm of the hotel and Chania itself led us to staying for 7.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    51
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We spent 3 days at Doma Hotel and really enjoyed it. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes walking distance from the main tourist centre, but for us that was a big part of the attraction. The hotel is in an old mansion and is very beautiful and very quiet. The room we were in had 2 single beds and a lovely little balcony. There was no internet access provided by the hotel, but we were able to connect, intermittently, to unsecured networks nearby when the balcony doors were open. The bathroom was small, and in strange European style, had a shower with no shower curtain so everything gets soaked. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We booked a trip to the Samarian Gorge through the front desk and it was less expensive than at some agencies in town, and we were picked up at our hotel. The breakfast was simple, but great! They served the best honey and yogurt we had on our three and a half week long trip through Greece and Turkey. We also slept in one day and they called us to let us know breakfast would be closing in 20 minutes. We paid $90 canadian (about $85 US dollars) a night and that was a steal. We would definitely recommend this hotel, but warn that it is in an old mansion, not a shiny new highrise and it is a hike to the centre of town, but it's a beautiful walk along the ocean, so if these things appeal to you, like they did us, you will enjoy Doma.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wagnerers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Reading all the previous comments I was a bit skeptical about this hotel.
I spent 15 nights between June and July 2010 and I was really satisfied
The hotel is very charmy, the rooms (we slept in a mini-suite) large and clean and the service excellent.
I honestly did not understand the previous complains about the noise ( to be true our bedroom was facing the garden) and about the out of fashion style of the furnitures.
My friends, if you are looking for a modern hotel, a full inclusive resort, sports and discos, this is not your hotel, so you can easily book a room in the crowded Platania. But if you wanted to breathe some flavor of the past and of Crete history, and if you are looking for friendly people, this is the choice number one in Chania !
The location is ideal, out of the crowd and not far from the Venetian port. Parking is very easy, wi-fi works fine and the breakfast is served in a marvelous room at the 4th floor.
But again the difference between this hotel and the others in the area is the charm and history and last but not least the friendly hospitality by all the staff. Thank you Miss Ireni to keep going the 40 yrs tradition of this small cute hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Beauriful, boutique hotel with views unparallel. Breakfast was delightful from the food - fresh sweezed orange juice, and eggs to order, the view - entire west side of dining hall had windows overlooking the harbor, to lovely music playing in the background. The rooms were beautiful and immaculately clean. After a week, the staff felt like family. We plann to return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
1,053 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2010

This is a simple hotel in an old building which has lots of interesting photographs and ancient artefacts. The family are delightful and most hel;pful. Breakfast is plentiful and there are delicious homemade jams. it is a bit of a walk from the old town but parking is easy in the adjoining streets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at the Doma hotel for one night because our first choice was booked. I was a little nervous because of some of the other reviews. It is on a busy street but we didn't find it to be an issue. We got a front room and they had double pane windows so it was pretty quite. The bed was super comfortable & we slept great. The room and bathroom were very nice and had been recently updated. Also had some of the nice touches like soft robes. The breakfast was served upstairs and it was excellent. The staff was very nice. I would say the only draw back to this place is that it is out of the main old town. We had to walk quite a ways from the bus station to get to the hotel. Then we walked a ways to get a late lunch. We gave up going out for dinner, too far. If you had a car it wouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarleneSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a Sunday night late in September. I was a bit hesitant booking the hotel because of mixed reviews, but we were not able to find other accommodations and since we were staying just one night, we decided to book. We were very happy we were only staying one night. Our room was on the second floor facing the ocean (but also facing the busy street.) Thank goodness we stayed on a Sunday night because I think the traffic and noise would have been much worse on another night. The room was furnished with two twin beds, very low to the ground and coarse furniture. The hairdryer was broken and my husband had to hold the hose to the unit so I could dry my hair. The view from the room was nice (see pictures) but breakfast was not anything to write home about.

The woman who greeted us at our arrival spoke English very well (she used to live in the States) and was very helpful about how to get around town and suggested a pastry shop in Chania that sold cheese-filled filo that was wonderful. The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the harbor area where most of the restaurants and shops are located. There is a string of restaurants and cafes closer to the hotel outside the harbor area, but they are a bit more expensive than those located in the center of town.

The hotel was not awful, but again, not someplace that I would want to spend much time. We've travelled extensively around the world and the best word I could use to describe Hotel Doma is serviceable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#57 of 109 in Chania Town
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#26 of 109 in Chania Town
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#34 of 109 in Chania Town
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#7 of 109 in Chania Town
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Andromeda
Villa Andromeda
#3 of 137 in Chania Town
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Klinakis Beach Hotel
Klinakis Beach Hotel
#15 of 102 in Chania Town
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doma Hotel

Property: Doma Hotel
Address: 124 Venizelou Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doma Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing