We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay on the back side”
Review of Doma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doma Hotel
Ranked #25 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's on a busy road and if you get a sea view room, you'll get traffic noise too. I couldn't sleep the first night so I asked for a room on the back and it was a lot better, I could hear just the cicadas. The hotel is great and the staff nice and helpful and really do their best to satisfy guests.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It's a charming "oldy" hotel with a fantastic view and a good location (not too far but not too near from the crazy port).
The room are fine but a bit noisy to my taste. The service is variable. Reception staff is good and give great advices on where to go to escape the crowd. The service at the breakfast is average not to say almost rude.
Overall it's a good place but I cannot help feeling it was too expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent here 3 nights mid July as a base to visit the west of the island. The place is a boutique hotel that formely was the british consulate. So, it is fully packed with historical pictures and stuff. Maybe recommended for a bit older people that might be able to enjoy it more than us. In genera a good place and a friendly welcoming and assistence troughtout the whole staying. The breakfast was OK but some food was clearly not freshly prepared, though it was not bad. Th hotel has no parking so you have to look for it if you go there by car (90% of Crete visitors I believe) but we never had problems finsing it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Spent a night at the Doma while on holiday in Crete. We had a lovely room - more like a suite with seating area, separate sleeping area and lovely spacious shower room. And balcony overlooking the bay with great views of the sunset. A little bit out of the hub of the old town and a fairly busy road going by but would not hesitate to recommend. Arrived very hot and bothered and was greeted by glass of cold cranberry juice. So welcome!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Maureeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has a vintage tone, and lots of character. The personnel was helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was amazing, with traditional home made tastes. Great view from our room. Great location, easy parking! Can't wait to visit again :)

Room Tip: if you want a room with view the trade-off is the traffic/noise but in the night it is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Doma in May 2013 as it received such a good rating from Lonely Planet. It is a lovely old building with lots of character. The rooms are a reasonable size and are quite comfortable. Even though we were at the front of the building, the double glazing cut out much of the noise from the constant traffic. The breakfast room is lovely - an old room adorned with old photographs and old implements - with a view of the sea. The breakfast selection is good.
Reception staff are very friendly and helpful. Don't use the lift, someone got stuck in it the night we stayed and the fire brigade had to be called.
We enjoyed staying here. Was it good value? Hard to say. We paid 80 euros and the next night stayed at a brand new hotel in Kissamos for 35 euros. I believe Chania is much more touristy than Kissamos, although it's a big difference in price.

Room Tip: If you have a room with a view of the sea, you will get a little bit of traffic noise (even with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

First, let me just say that I have never written a bad review on tripadvisor. My husband and I have been on a 2 week vacation where we have been hopping hotels every night and this is the only hotel I have ever had a problem with. Bottom line, this hotel was overpriced. The blankets were wool and itchy, and the beds were very low to the ground. It felt very muggy and dusty in the room. The staff was really nice and friendly and good except for the owner. We spoke to the owner as a result of our displeasure with horrible stay in which we only got 4 hours of sleep (12-2 am then 7-9 am). This very poor sleep quality was the direct result of the previously mentioned nature of the bed and rooms. The owner was unconcerned by our descriptions, stating that it was "our problem" and not anything to do with the hotel. She was openly incredulous, wondering why if we were dissatisfied with the room why we didn't notify the front desk staff. We tried to explain the fact that we were making the best of it at first, and that when we finally couldn't get back to sleep, it was already after 2 in the morning. For a 4 star hotel, we shouldn't have to go room hopping in the middle of the night with all the luggage that one has from a 2 week vacation. Beyond that, clearly it was not just "our problem" given that we did not have those difficulties in any of the other 13 hotels we stayed over the vacation. Finally, after arguing with us for 20 minutes she said it was our problem not her problem and there was nothing she could do. I'm in the service industry and to me that is very unacceptable to be treating your customer that way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Halepa Hotel
Halepa Hotel
#23 of 111 in Chania Town
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#38 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doma Hotel

Address: 124 Venizelou Str, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: $108 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doma Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing