We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL in Chania - A MUST SEE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Casa Delfino is a magical hotel right in the middle of Chania. After a long and tiring hike down the Samaria Gorge, we arrived at Casa Delfino and were greeted with truly amazing customer service - the staff upgraded us to a top room (without asking!) and there was fresh orange juice waiting for us. The complimentary breakfast is delicious - all home made the day of (definitely not your typical American style free breakfast!). Margarita and the entire staff are always willing to help and are very helpful in directing you to local places (not filled with tourists), whether it's nightlife, restaurants, or beaches.

Plan on staying at least 2 nights (one night is much too short!).

If you are planning on seeing Crete during your visit to Greece, definitely plan on stopping by in Chania, and staying at Casa Delfino. Once you stay here, you won't ever want to leave :)

TIP: Print directions to Casa Delfino because it is a little difficult to find (it is nestled right in the middle of the little Chania streets).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoTravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 893 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I began our honeymoon in Chania at the Casa Delfino, in the center of the Venetian old town. We were warmly welcomed by the manager Margarita, who showed us through to the courtyard and up to our beautiful and spacious room. Our stay here really set the bar for the rest of the honeymoon, but no other hotels we stayed in made us feel as welcome as Delfino.

The courtyard is gorgeous, truly the focus of the hotel - and the breakfast each morning was freshly-made and delicious. Our bedroom had a vintage set of wooden doors out to a small balcony, a comfortable sitting room and a huge whirlpool bath.

The location is 5*. Even in the heart of the picturesque Old Town, the hotel is surrounded by quiet side-streets - meaning you get the tranquillity of the peaceful courtyard with all the best restaurants and bars within very close walking distance. The roof terrace looks out over the whole port.

We had a wonderful 3 nights here, made all the more better by the hotels staff and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

A amazing hotel that blends in to the surroundings. The staff is incredible including of course the owner Maragarita who is hands on especially in the morning, in order to help their guets coordinate trips or activities. The breakfast is traditional cretan, simple and healthy with many home baked goodies. Clean, close to everything. Man, what else can you say. Anybody with a negative sentiment should'nt bother writing anything. Our three teens loved the place. Margarita even helped with suggestions for night clubs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dymonicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was our third stop on our honeymoon... and we wish we had kept our original booking which would have given us one more night at Casa Delfino! We had the pentouse suite - it was fabulous... private balcony looking over Chania harbor, absolutely beautiful setting! We got a complimentary bottle of sparking wine for our honeymoon which we could just order whenever we liked (which was actually nicer than having it waiting for us at a time we weren't quite in the mood). The staff was great in providing restaurant recommendations, giving us tips on local sights, and booking our Samaria Gorge tour/hike (though the hike itself was exhausting in the August heat). We really enjoyed the breakfast (and wished we had it for a couple of more mornings) - Marguerite's mom and grandmother make some of the treats and they are just super delicious! The courtyard downstairs is a lovely setting for breakfast.
Jennifer was great in providing tourist recommendations, I believe Stella was the one who checked us in and she was also super helpful, and Eddie was great with lugging our luggage all the way to the top floor and always with a smile!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techygirlinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I have never written a review before but after our experience here, I just had to! Casa Delfino is a charming, delightful, renovated Venetian mansion off a quiet street in Chania. We traveled for almost three weeks all over Greece and Turkey and this was the highlight of our honeymoon. The entire staff treated my husband and I with top notch service the minute we arrived. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which is simply gorgeous and very large! A bottle of sparkling wine was sent to our room and it only got better from there. The roof top deck has an amazing view, the homemade breakfasts by family members were delicious, and every restaurant recommendation was top notch! However, it is the people at Casa Delfino that set it apart- led by owner Margarita who makes it her job to know you well (she found out I loved chocolate and gave me some from her special stash- even leaving a decorated envelope on my bed on our last night), Yannis secured us a rental car at 10:00 at night when we changed our mind about our plans, Stella helped us plan our gorge excursion, and Jennifer gave us great tips on things to see. Bravo! We can't wait to go back- hopefully soon :-) In the meantime, you must stay here- it is beautiful and an experience to remember!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank kikieis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Casa Delfino is a beautiful old mansion in a very quite part of the picturesque historical part of Chania. The very elegant, lovely owner / manager Margarita and all her staff were among the most hospitable people in any hotel that I have stayed. Even if you don't manage to find a room to stay, be sure to visit for the delicious breakfast in what must be one of the most charming courtyards in Crete.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theomobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Casa Deflino is nothing short of a great hotel. Margarita (the owner/manager) and her staff are always trying to make sure your stay is pleasant. The grounds are a mansion converted to a hotel. As you enter and step into the courtyard, a part of you feels like you are entering your own home. Margarita welcomed us and spent about 30 minutes with a local map directing us on where the best food and sites would be. She toured with all the guests during breakfast to help them plan their days. We spent three nights at the Casa and couldn't have asked for anything better. The location is absolutely perfect within the Venetian harbor. Breakfast is "home-made" and served daily in their courtyard. We had early days twice (before formal breakfast was to be served) and the staff made sure food and coffee were available to us anyway. The hotel made our accomodations for our Samaria Gorge tour for us and even paid the tour company on our behalf until we had to check out the room - never asking us for $$$ in advance as if we wouldn't pay for the third-party expenses. The room and service were top-notch overall!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKukreja78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,349 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $150 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing