We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for just three nights and it was wonderful. The building and courtyard are a wonderful quiet oasis just a couple hundred feet from the old harbor.The rooftop deck was wonderful. The breakfast was phenomenal, with homemade goods. The staff were very helpful and had great recommendations for restaurants/activities. Also, the first night we stayed in room 9, which is a new room. The room was immaculate, but right below the rooftop deck, so the ceiling screeched every time someone moved a chair. Not a big deal for most, but we are picky sleepers. The staff were more than happy to accommodate us and move us to a 2 room suite for the last 2 days(room 19). Our car also died and they called someone to come help us jump it off. Overall the staff were friendly and accommodating in every way and hotel was a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    98
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
136
478
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Casa Delfino in May and had a wonderful stay. Situated right in the Old Town so heaps of fantastic restaurants right outside your door but virtually no noise. Rooms were large (for an old building and very well appointed. Breakfasts are taken in the airy courtyard, they offer a large selection and are all the ingredients home made. There is also a roof terrace where you can take a drink and enjoy the sunset while looking over the harbour

But I think the best part of Casa Delfino is its staff. From the breakfast staff, so attentive to the lovely ladies in reception. They arranged a hire car us at short notice, sorted out a transfer problem we had and offered suggestions for sightseeing at the western end of the island.


A very enjoyable stay, thank you ...

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard can be a bit noisy as some guests sit there late into the evening ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Casa Delfino is in Old Town Chania, which is where you want to be while in Chania. It's convenient location puts you within walking distance of wonderful cafes, restaurants, shops, the harbor and the archeological museum. We had a difficult time finding it, but once we did we had no difficulty walking around the town and finding our way back. What we appreciated the most is the wonderful staff who recommended several great restaurants that tend to be frequented by locals. Fabulous Cretan dishes! Chania is one of the most charming places we've been and our stay there was part of a magical holiday in Greece. The sunset views from the rooftop are spectacular.

Room Tip: Our room was accessible only by several flights of stairs. So if climbing stairs is an issue you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

we had a very interrupted massage here. The massuesse had to leave the room to tell the very noisy group of people in the bar area that there were treatments taking place but the noise continued. The noise from the bar area went on for at least half of the massage. We mentioned this to the reception staff who defended the noise saying that "i timed the noise, it was 6 minutes" which was absolutely false. Also, we were asked "why didnt u stop the massage and leave ?" - quite defensive behaviour and putting the onus back on their customers - like it was our fault - go figure. We were offered a substantial discount in the end but unfortunately the staff at the front desk made some unpleasant comments in Greek. Unfortunately, i understood them.

The spa is not really a spa because the staff are called in on request and seem to quickly run off after the treatment so there is no continuity or follow up after the treatment, the staff quickly vanish. Great shame because the treatment room was very nice but it just didnt match the service and the set up.

I think that this fact, coupled with the experience we had means that i would never go back nor in a position to recommend it. If you are after a spa treatment, there are much better choices with customer service to match. It wouldve been much better if the reception staff just admitted that the noise was unacceptable rather than argue about it and also be more careful with their use of the Greek language.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markantonakim, Διευθυντής at Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your visit to our Spa.
I am truly sorry for your experience which falls far short of the standards you can rightfully expect from us.

Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the areas we have fallen short of your expectations.

I do hope that, in time, you might reconsider and give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
This time not only as a Spa guest, so as to prove to you the level of service we strive to provide for all of our guests.

Kind regards,
Margarita Markantonaki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My partner and I spent four easy and happy nights here. The hotel is conveniently located in Old Chania near restaurants, the harbor, etc. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good (homemade sweets were the breakfast highlight), although the dining area is a bit cramped. The views from the roof deck at sunset is gorgeous. But most notably- ALL of the staff are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating! Margarita, the manager, suggested excellent restaurants. My partner celebrated his birthday while there- and the staff surprised him with a delicious birthday cake! We chose to leave 4 days of our trip "unplanned" while in Crete after our stay at Casa Delfino, knowing that we could find things to do while in Crete based upon recommendations by others we would meet while we were in Crete. Maria, Stella, Christina and Vasia at Casa Delfino helped us plan four nights down along the south of Crete- from our car rental and driving routes, to making room reservations, to ideas of beaches and restaurants to try. We had a blast- every recommendation exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: If you have no problem with stairs, ask for a room on one of the higher floors as the courtyard can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently enjoyed four nights here. On the plus side, the staff are all helpful and the location good, a block from the harbor. We stayed in the two bedroom suite, which was large, almost too large. The king bed is on the top floor. It is a flight of stairs down to the bathroom, then another flight down to the street level room with two beds and another bathroom. There was no comfortable place for us to sit in the room, so we ended up sitting on the stairs. Also, I am a light sleeper, and between the noise from the street, the noise from the dining area in the morning, and the noise from the staff walking up and down the stairs by the room, I barely slept for four nights. A room on a higher floor would undoubtedly been better, but they had nothing else available to move us to. Breakfast in the morning was OK. There were commercial breads and "homebaked" sweets, packaged cereals, and dakos, a local specialty. I'm sure I would have a better impression of the hotel had the room not been so dreadfully located.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor at all costs, unless you sleep like a rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

It took us close to 30 hours to get here from California, including an airport strike/slowdown in Rome that delayed us a couple of hours before our flight to Chania. We were whipped. Then we rented a car and got lost getting to the hotel. First, they sent someone from the hotel to find us and lead us to the hotel. Then, as I parked the car, I found out the manager had taken my wife -- who'd kind of lost it and gone over the edge -- up to our room and had calmed her down with beautiful sensitivity. We were extremely tired, so they gave us a menu from a great local restaurant, told us to choose what we wanted, and to call down our order to the front desk, so they could order the meal for us. But they weren't done there. They offered to serve the meal on their roof so we could eat outside and view the beautiful harbor area lit up at night. We ate up there; it was lovely even if makeshift on their spur of the moment effort.
The hotel itself is very beautifully designed, incorporating one building that's a few hundred years old (updated tastefully) with a newer wing where the rooms are. The room itself has a great layout (which my wife just said to me as she walked back into the bedroom from the large and gracious bathroom with a free-standing tub, great separate shower, and beautiful vessel sinks.
There's a living room with two sofas and a tv and mini bar. It's modern with clean lines; not cushy but very comfortable. The rooms have high ceilings and the sound is totally damped by the quality windows and shutters. The bed has -- as my wife likes to judge at every hotel -- a "high thread count." Super comfortable bed. The setting of the hotel is picture postcard perfect in the old town. If someone told me it was a set design and not a real series of streets and shops, I might believe them. We've stayed in quite a few of the best hotels in the world, in places all over the world. While this is small hotel and isn't an apples to apples comparison with some great resort spa hotels, it's an A+ as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrob455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing