We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff here are so delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The staff here are so delightful”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days in September 2013.
Our Room was nice and clean and well looked after.
The BIG major advantage of this hotel is the staff are ALL so nice, charming and really helpful.
We arrived and Marghareta (the owner) greeted us with a map of Chania indicating all the best restaurants in town. They were!
The girls on the front desk, Christine , Vasia, Stella and Maria were all without exception so helpful. This experience is very rarely found in the UK. We think mainly because this is a family run hotel.
We also had exceptional service at breakfast with Aris, Dina and Stefanos all providing us with a truly great experience . Breakfast was different . They had lots of greek specialities, cakes, biscuits, fruit yoghurt rolls & fresh mini croissants.
I had a birthday whilst there and a chocolate birthday cake appeared that morning with all the staff present singing you know what ! Impressive!

I had a squeaky door handle in our bathroom and within a few hours we found the barman Costas with a can of WD 40 applying lubrication. An engineer’s panacea.

Ask any question to Aris (he says his name is Aristotle without the totle) and you will be in for a wealth of information from a multi lingual, educated young man who I suggested should really be on the stage.
Great hotel.
PS Some reviewers found no lift. There is a beautiful lift that takes you to the roof Terrace!

Room Tip: There is no pool! Make sure you have a room that is suitable for you. Some rooms have lots of steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45rsw45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    100
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
138
492
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We just completed a 5 night stay at Casa Delfino. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. Staff could not have been nicer and are extremely knowledgeable about the area - where to go, what beaches to choose, where to eat. They made accurate restaurant reservations and we were always seated in prime locations when we got there! Beach towels and umbrellas were plentiful.
Breakfasts were excellent - boiled eggs cooked to order; a different quiche every day and a constant stream of fresh pastries/croissants. Nespresso coffee machine.
There is a sitting area on the roof with a hot tub that is filled on request. No bar up there but you can request a drink to be delivered there.

Negatives - a lot of stairs. Rooftop requires 1 and 1/2 flights. Our room was 3rd floor and was an apartment which mean a curved staircase to the bed ( tricky to negotiate to the bathroom at night). It was very warm on the upper level, despite the air conditioning but they kindly provided a fan.
Big tree in the breakfast area with birds sitting in it meant beware of bird droppings.
A free bottle of water in the room on arrival would have been a nice touch.

We loved Chania and would stay at Casa Delfino again for sure

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindaw143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful hotel. Our room (4) had a balcony overlooking a tranquil courtyard. Great location in the old town, just a few meters from the old town promenade but very quiet. But it's the staff who make staying here such a great experience. Their English is impeccable and they are genuinely interested in their guests. Particular thanks to Vasia, Stella and Aris, you're great! And, not forgetting Margaritte, your warmth and hospitality is second to none.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuzyRosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We first stayed in 2008 after my wife had been taken ill. It was just for one night but 3 years later we returned for a week. the apartments vary in size but all are really comfortable and totally adequate for anything other that a party with more than 2 guests. But if that is the case then the courtyard has more than enough space. We would without hesitation book into the Casa DelFino as it is so well placed just one small step to the harbour side and to stay here is an absolute joy. Unfortunately this hotel is almost always fully booked. We would recommend that should you want to stay here to book early. You are sure not to be disappointed. in fact, in our opinion this is the best of the best and the elite of the elite.

Room Tip: Make sure you try the greek yogurt and honey for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkFredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Beautiful rooms (with very comfy beds, we had trouble getting up each morning haha), Impeccable service, friendly extremely knowledgeable staff that speaks multiple languages (owner even interacts directly with you and is 6th generation), delicious relaxing breakfast with some made-to-order items and the rest all organic food that was made overnight by the owner's grandmother, great location for walking around the port (in the action but without the noise of being right in the port), beautiful rooftop with amazing view of the port (perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine at night and just watching and listening to the bars/restaurants/other port activity). Free wi-fi, free beach towels, and printed English directions if you want to take a day trip elsewhere. Nice location to return to at night after spending the day at nearby beautiful beaches. Parking (only negative) was a bit of a nightmare though as there's very little parking in the old town area and sometimes we had to drive around for a long time before finding anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryG148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

During our 3-day stay at Casa Delfino my family felt as though we were being taken care of by the best mom ever. Whatever we needed, the staff was there to assist you'd rom wonderful breakfasts to planning excursions. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Chania.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great rooms, great view in most of the rooms in the center of the old town. This hotel has character and highly suggested either for families or young couples that need to be in the center of chania.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polyvios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 109 in Chania Town
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 109 in Chania Town
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
591 reviews
31.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#6 of 109 in Chania Town
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing