We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much hyped, but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We chose to stay at Casa Delfino mainly due to the reviews on tripadvisor. I am always a bit sceptical of poor reviews for a hotel that has so many positives, so I always read them to see if the reviewer is just having a whinge or if they have had a bad experience. In my case It seemed that the hotel was good and the bad reviews were quite old, or not justified. The hotel was a little hard to find as the taxi had to drop us at the end of the street as he couldn't get any closer. The staff were lovely and we were checked in quickly. We booked a one bedroom apartment that was spacious, but a little dated. The problem with the room was the shower which is above the bath. The drain leaked so the water was seeping out between the floor and the bath and flooded the bathroom and started coming into the living area. We managed to mop the water up using the towels. I went and spoke with reception who were very good and moved us downstairs to a suite about 20 minutes later. The suite was a bigger room on the ground floor with a spa bath and second bedroom. However it was very dark, dank and smelt very damp and musty. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, but the rooms were a big disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlo-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markantonakim, Manager at Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa.

I was disappointed to read that your stay with us was not as special as you anticipated. It is regretful that you did not feel that you could bring your dissatisfaction with even the second room, that we offered you, to our attention at the time. Our Guests' satisfaction is incredibly important to us and we would have done anything in our power to resolve the issue whilst you were in-house. We do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes of accommodation with varying furnishings. I am sorry those rooms was not to your liking.

I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be professional and friendly. I will make sure to convey your gratitude to them.

Kind regards,
Markantonaki Margarita
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 895 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just completed a 5 night stay at Casa Delfino and had an all around wonderful experience. The staff was warm, welcoming and extremely helpful- from emailing us information ahead of time about things to do in the area, to restaurant recommendations, arranging a rental car and excursions, and even directions. The room was expansive and comfortable, and the only issue we had (leaky tub) was addressed right away. The hotel is in a great location for walking and exploring the Old Town area. It was always clean and the breakfast (including made to order eggs and coffee drinks) was delicious. We also had massages at the spa- excellent! I would definitely stay at Casa Delfino again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay very much! The morning breakfast was great; featuring organic/local supplied food. We were especially fortunate to spend our stay in the Presidential Suite. It had the best private roof top view of the harbor/sea. The furnishings were all modern and nicely decorated. The location within the Venetian style town was ideal. We could easily walk (with stroller) to the shops and restaurants. The staff recommendations for restaurants didn't disappoint once. We'd love to come back again! Thanks so much to all of the staff for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cafedujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from a 3 week European adventure, and the highlight was our stay at Casa Delfino. We hadn't planned to visit Chania for very long, and Delfino was sort of a last-minute booking. After Istanbul, we wanted a higher-end experience for our time in Crete, and Delfino delivered in every way.

Staff - amazing. Vicky especially. So much so that we took her to dinner as a thank you for how wonderful she is.

The room was top shelf all the way - a two story apartment unit that we're told was the nicest they had. It was truly amazing. Two bathrooms, so much space, luxurious furniture and a perfect environment to relax for a few days.

The breakfasts were incredible - as if I had barked "bring me the finest meats & cheeses in all the land!" Made to order eggs and cappuccino, Bailey's on demand, and gracious hosts who sincerely enjoyed our company or should receive Oscars for their performances.

Can't overstate how great this part of our trip was - highly recommend. Thank you Casa Delfino.

Room Tip: Just get the two-story apartment. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A beautiful hotel to stay in to explore the old town of Chania. We (family of 5, with 3 teenage children) stayed there for one night at the end of a weeks holiday in Crete - a wonderful way to end the holiday. Beautiful court yard to sit and enjoy delicious breakfast; fantastic roof terrace to look out over the city. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Outstanding hotel. Stayed for 3 nights with my family (including children). We had 2 rooms.

It is located in the old town in Chania and is very well located (water front etc. are within walking distance). It is a small but charming hotel. One of the best features of the hotel is the courtyard, where breakfast is served (weather permitting). A leisurely breakfast in the courtyard was one of the highlights of staying at Casa Delfino.

Rooms were large and had all the necessary comforts. All the rooms are up done up differently.

In addition, there is:

- free internet through out the hotel,
- a small spa which offers a number of treatments, and
- a roof top terrace where hotel guests can get a panoramic view of the town and enjoy drinks etc.

Staff was excellent and made us feel very comfortable.

Eating places recommended by the hotel staff were very good and hence managed to avoid the typical touristy restaurants (that all have very similar menus with mediocre food at best).

Overall a very relaxing experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_ahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A very unique place, very clean and the staff was excellent. Breakfast was fantastic, nothing but fresh, local foods. Location, just off the waterfront, is outstanding and an easy walk. Room was clean, well furnished and provided a great view. One drawback was the TV didn't work, but we really weren't in the room that much. Rates are resonable for the area and quality of the hotel. Great place!

Room Tip: Courtyard off the bar is a great place to relax. Plenty of shopping close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
287 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $148 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing