We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Fantastic location in the Old Town which enabled us to be drawn into the historical Venetian, Ottoman and Greek cultures. The hotel is a fabulous building beautifully renovated to create a wonderful atmosphere of charm and elegance all centred around a magnificent courtyard.
The family had a daily presence and, supported by a happy, friendly and caring staff, delivered a very warm and homely feel where nothing was too much trouble and indeed guest's troubles where quickly resolved.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone wishing to visit Chania and if we ever returned it'd be number one on our list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 899 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I admit that I was reserved when my wife booked here. This, however, decision made our vacation so much better. This excellent environment and superb suite is located at the very heart of the old Chanea town and close to everything we wanted there. Stuff responsiveness and reception lady politeness and profesionalism will definitely bring us back some time. Great address!

Room Tip: Any suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zmatzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My fiancee and I just returned from a visit to Crete where we had the pleasure of staying at margarittes hotel. I was impressed with the work ethic and attention to detail of this young hotellier. She took care of every request with ease and made us feel like we were her personal guests. I will look forward to a return visit and recommend if you want the best while in chania visit margaritte. She's a real working diva!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from the Casa Delfino. The hotel is a haven in Chania. Breakfast in their cool, leafy courtyard is a great start to the day. Wonderful staff who cannot do enough to help. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pippa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our last stop in Crete and it was a perfect combination of old-world elegance with modern ammenities. The staff was so friendly and welcoming and was always eager to make fantastic restaurant (well of the turk and tamam were delicious) and beach (falasarna) recommendations. The location was great with only a five minute walk to the parking area outside the town walls. Unfortunately due to the extreme heat, we were unable to hike the samarian gorge, but our room stayed very cool with the air conditioning. The two-bedroom suite was very beautiful with the marble staircase and was very large with two full baths. The bathrooms were a little worn and the bedding was dark and heavy, but everything was exceptionally clean. It was lovely having the delicous and extensive breakfast in the courtyard each morning. It has to be the most beautiful and unique hotel in Chania! It was a perfect way to end our fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Set in the heart of Chania Old Town away from the hustle and bustle but only yards from the harbour is Casa Delfino. The atmosphere is of high quality and serenity, the staff are quietly very efficient and extremely friendly, and the breakfasts contain all home made food of very high quality and variety.
There are a few possible downsides depending on your point of view, the lack of a pool may be seen as an omission but there is nowhere to have one and sea swimming is so good in the warm and shallow Mediteranean. The roof terrace is a haven of peace and provides stunning views over the harbour, perfect for sunbathing or just rounding off the evening in the warm evenings.
The hotel only prepares breakfast and guests eat other meals at the many local restaurants which are generally of a very good standard, the hotel has a list of suggestions which were all excellent.
Many thanks to Margarita and her staff made who our stay an enormous success and we would not hesitate to recommend Casa Delfino to everyone who visits Crete. We would not stay anywhere else and look forward to returning one day. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are currently being or are due to be renovated, until this happens Room 8 is not quite as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Delfino for our honeymoon - we cannot imagine having a better experience!!! The staff are WONDERUL - Margarita, Vicki and the others were so personable and friendly and went over and above what we could have expected to make our stay perfect. Every single restaurant that they recommended was phenomenal. One restaurant that was recommended was so secluded (and absolutely amazing) that Margarita escorted us in her own car to make sure that we found it. Each staff member is a gem and makes the stay here perfect.

Beyond the staff, the hotel is beautiful and wonderful comfortable. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and had a private terrace that overlooks the harbor. Perfect for an evening glass of wine. Each room is perfectly appointed, comfortable and classy. Don't miss the spa - your private spa with marble walls, candles, hamam... just amazing.

The breakfast at the hotel is made by Margarita's mother. The pastries are traditionally Cretan and are a perfect way to start the day.

Thank you so much! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookeSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
288 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $153 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing