We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with two other couples. The hotel was lovely but what was even lovelier was the warm and hospitable nature of the staff. Margarite is the 6th generation owner of the hotel, and was a charming young women with a lovely disposition and a very personable nature. She was calm and patient and very helpful. Breakfasts were served with delicious freshly baked goods made by her grandmother as well as home made marmalade and jams and jellies. Two nights felt too short a stay here for us!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 901 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

A truly luxurious boutique hotel with the added charm of being family run. We stayed for 10 days in May. From the moment we arrived in Chania the taxi driver was co-ordinated with the hotel to have someone meet us around 300 meters down the pedestrian only road to collect our bags, the staff at Casa Delfino looked after us perfectly. At breakfast the first morning we were talked through many local restaurants and tourist attractions, every recommendation proved to be spot on, this information was then topped up as and when required throughout our stay. We were in one of the new suites which was very spacious and tastefully decorated, the bathroom being particularly fabulous (we wanted to transport it home). The roof terrace is still being rebuilt, but was still open and provides a private location to enjoy sundown cocktails with a great view of the old harbour. All of the staff and management go out of their way to be genuinely helpful and friendly, not only regarding the facilities of the hotel, they seem to take on responsibility to make sure you achieve the best from the whole island, whether your interest is in beaches, Cretan ancient history or Word War II. We will be returning at some point and would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John.Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Amazing service. The staff is absolutely wonderful. They even sit down with you and go over all the different things you can do while in Chania. They make suggestions for restaurants, and help you with anything you need. This hotel has the best service out of any hotel I have stayed at. Very impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The best hotel I have stayed at in Greece. My room was a beautiful blend of old world charm and modern amenity. It had an authentic Turkish hamam inside; the perfect gift after hiking the gorge!!! The attention to detail was truly superb in this hotel and the staff was attentive at every step.
Undoubtedly, the location is unbeatable. Although just a few steps away from all the bars and restaurants and 30 sec walk from the water, it is so quiet…it is an oasis in the middle of everything!
The only drawback was that there is no direct access to the hotel by car, you have to walk some meters, and while we did not have a mobile phone to call for assistance, a lot of luggage instead, it was an adventure…all finished by the time we entered the hotel.
All in all perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaferAki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I loved this place ... mostly the breakfast!
I would definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agloG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

In early April we were very honoured to be the first guests to stay in the Presidential Suite of new wing of Casa Delfino. This suite is a delightful blend of historic architecture and exquisite modern design. It has a large bedroom, two separate sitting rooms, a luxurious marble bathroom that includes double sinks, large shower and a soaker tub. The suite is on 2 levels and our daughter felt very pampered sleeping on the second level with its access to a large private roof top patio that had a wonderful view of the harbour and lighthouse. The new wing will also include a spa and roof top terrace that unfortunately weren’t quite ready when we were there, but based on the care and attention to detail that was demonstrated in our suite I am sure they will be positively lovely.

As much as we adored the accommodation (and the great breakfast) we were even more delighted with the friendliness and helpfulness of the family owners and staff. Margarita was exceedingly generous with her time in providing helpful tips and insights on everything from where to eat to recommendations of days trip from Chania. We found a warmth and thoughtfulness at the Casa Delfino that made our stay truly special.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie_452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Although not recognised as such by the official rating system (which seems to focus purely on a checklist of material things), this is truly a 5 star establishment. This small family hotel has been tastefully and thoughtfully developed within a group of 17-18th century houses, one of which has been in the family for 6 generations.
To ensure a view of the harbour, we splashed out and booked the Penthouse Suite, and were rewarded with a private sun deck with a perfect view of the old Venetian Harbour, and a spacious 2 storey suite.
What defines this as 5 stars for us is the quality of the facilities and more importantly the very friendly, helpful, pro-active service and attention to detail. We had spent the previous few nights staying with friends on the south coast of Crete, and Casa Delfino was like an extension of that - it also felt like staying with friends, albeit new ones, and with a much fancier house. The family and staff went to great lengths to make sure that our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Their suggestions of where to go and where to eat were very helpful; four of the five restaurants that we dined at following our hosts' recommendations were excellent, the other not quite so good, but in an ever-changing business at the beginning of the main season that was a very good score - we never could have done so well by ourselves.
As soon as they heard that we had arrived with a flat tyre on our car, they relieved us of the worry of dealing with it; fitting of a replacement for the badly damaged tyre was all arranged with minimal input from us and without leaving the carpark. Although the hotel is inaccessible by car, the obliging porter collected our bags from the car when we arrived, and delivered them back to the public carpark at the bottom of Theotokopoulou St when we departed.
Overall, an exceptional place to stay – one of the gems that travellers expect to find only occasionally, and one to be remembered for a long time.

Room Tip: Splash out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
288 reviews
27.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#3 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $153 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing