We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Ta Chalkina

Ta Chalkina
Ranked #34 of 418 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Great food! Good people, very laid back atmosphere and well priced!! This restaurant in the heart of Chania has everything! A visit is strongly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedrodq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    178
    65
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First time we visited Chalkina restaurant, was for a quick bite with my girlfriend as it was recommended by the Greek concierge at the hotel. We ended up making it our local and only dined there for the rest of the holidays.
The location of the restaurant at the port was ideal and so was the atmosphere along with the view if offers, complimented by the ambience of this popular destination for both tourists and locals. The food was delicious, the wine sublime and the raki a local produce. All in a very high quality with a very low price tag, considering we ordered as many plates as we could try from the menu every time we went! We were never disappointed whatever we ordered! The owners and staff were delightful and very friendly, and even gave us tips and information on what to visit on the island. Overall an extremely pleasant experience and we will visit again first chance we get without a doubt!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A perfect cretan evening!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

On our first evening in Chania we had our dinner at another establishment that we have visited on a previous stay where many of the locals had eaten before. We were a little surprised not finding the same ambience as we had experienced some 7 years ago. On our way back towards the venetian harbour we passed this amazing place with many locals enjoying their dinner. We then new were to go before our vacation ended - to Ta Chalkina.
We arrived to the restaurant around 08.30 pm and only a few tables besides ours were taken. However Greeks eat very late and we were confident that they would be busy before we left.
The menu card were at first sight a little dificult to read but with a little guidance from the kind waiter we find our way around the card. Pictures and explanations were first shown and in the back you had the prices. All courses are served as it should meze style, reminds of Spanish tapas, just greek.
We had the most delicious cretan meal I can ever remind off and we really enjoyed having ordered 5 to 6 dishes for 4 persons was more than enough. We tried the stuffed wine leafs with soured cream, grilled haloumi cheese, grilled shrimps were amazing, chicken cooked with honey and local spices and the lamb was probably the most fantastic part. Its a very long time since I've had tryed lamb this good!
Ta Chalkina wants to seek into the old traditions with a new twist and away from the traditional turistic places you will find by the venetian harbour of Chania.
Every evening, at least during summer months they have live music with musicians from all over Greece. I would recommend you to take a table away from the cafe next door as they do have more modern music and a little too loud to hear the local singers.
I love the details they have made for this place everything from the beautiful small tables outside were you will find tissues, tooth sticks to the salt & pebber to the inside with beautiful decor on the walls. The toilets are also very nicely decorated and clean.
When we left the restaurant was packed to the very last chair out side, they have a huge outside service and the waiters were very busy but had a great over view with every single table. Since they are this busy waiting time can occur the longest we waited was for the bill but for the entertainment and the amazement of the food was all worth it.
If you are looking for the "traditionally rice and french fries" accompanying your dish, you should not go here - as Ta Chalkina says.."we do not, we do not, we do not serve french fries".
Even the prices are very fair, this was the cheapest meal we had for 4 persons during our week around 60 Euro's incl. drinks.
Unfortunately we was not able to make it a second time during this visit but I will defenitely re-visit this local hotspot on my next trip to Chania!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTrueGreatDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Traditional cretan food with modern influences”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Situated in Chania marina and closed to water with amazing view and good traditonal cretan food "Ta chalkina" is a must...Reasonable prices,good service and polite staff

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fotsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The life is tastey and beautiful”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

in CHANIA harbor.with a beautiful view.closed to the water,in old beautiful buliding,two story RESTAURANT,serves a selection of many delicious dishes
of local cuisine.the service perfect,the place very clean.
On the II floor orginal live Greek music until the wee hours.
We enjoyed.VERY STRONGLY RECOMMENDED

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sinai-yair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Chalkina also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Ta Chalkina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing