We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steki Restaurant - Taverna

Steki Restaurant - Taverna
Ranked #29 of 403 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend Steki! We stayed 10 days in the neighbourhood of this great restaurant and ate there nearly everyday. The place is so lovely and nice, the food is excellent and we had great rakitimes with johnny, franko and the other guys working there! Thank you so much for everything!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    106
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moulsford, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cretan Civilisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Walk away a single minute from the heat and hustle of the harbour and you will find a cool, shady haven called Speki. Its calm and modesty belies the extraordinary quality of the food. I am not a big eater, but I swear that, even after a mountain of delights, the only thing left on the plate each time was a bit of lemon peel. If the delightful Mama Chef, whom we met and were charmed by, ever brings out a recipe book, I'm going to be the first to order it on Amazon. Meats were amazing, I wish I knew how she did those. But veggie stuff was possibly even better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful ambiance, unexceptional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has tables in a roofless ruined building (elaborately painted) and on the alley and in a dining room. The ambiance is charming but can be a little drafty if you are outside. The chicken cutlets were good but the traditional Greek food was not quite as as good as other places. Service was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Next_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Found this restaurant in a lovely quiet side street on day trip to this town in October and thought the food and service were excellent and staff friendly. Food was great value for money and we enjoyed the complimentary Raki afterwards. Would certainly visit it again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NanMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taastrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is not my first visit to this restaurant and it won't be my last - 95 % of all my meals and drinks has been here, over the last 10 years

The food is great, the Schnitzel is the best in town and the Gordon blue is wow and it is big! all the other food is great too but if I had to pick something out the two things that comes to my mind is those.

Here you will feel welcome and the staff is very professional and helpfull if there is any questions at all.

If you like mix-grill or a mix fish plate you can get it here and it is delicious.

They have a lovely garden where you can sit and the story about the garden is very interesting since it has been a ruin since the world war 2

Steki restaurant will always stay special to me and therefore I can only recommend this restaurant to everybody!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christinahjkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steki Restaurant - Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Steki Restaurant - Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing