We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Thoroughly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Veneziano Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #7 of 113 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Tiverton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Porto Veneziano with which we we were very impressed. The Greek owner ,a very charming gentleman,was there daily ,and it was obvious that he has engendered a great sense of dedication amongst the staff who could not have been more helpful, friendly and also efficient.The hotel has recently been completely refitted. The situation is great being right on the waterfront in the old town. We found our initial bedroom to be somewhat compact so we upgraded to a lovely suite. The old town was fascinating but I have never seen so much graffiti - come on Crete surely you can catch some of these vandals and set them to cleaning up! We arrived late at night and took a taxi to the hotel and then hired a car in town We would never have found our way there in the maze of little streets and one way signs

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickTiverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    195
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
117
508
64
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room although a little small was compensated by the fabulous harbour views from our balcony. The beds were extremely comfortable, the bathroom clean and very well appointed with brilliant shower. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice to suit all tastes. We found the staff to be charming, friendly and very helpful. Special mention for Jorge the evening bar man who kept us entertained.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmer_et_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had a great time in Chania. Stayed for 4 nights. Location was wonderful. Very clean and looked after hotel. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Short walk to the old town (5 mins) along the harbour so very pleasant. Don't hesitate to book this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venice430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel was very clean, although the rooms are bit small. It has a great location right near the Venetian Harbor (and easy access to the lighthouse across the harbor). The staff is very helpful & knowledgeable, and we found their recommendations on point. We found the breakfast adequate.

The only downside is the distance from the beaches. The closest is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel, and it is small before getting too rocky again.

However, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeegirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in March. Finding the hotel by car was challenging (we did NOT have GPS), but once there the location was wonderful. We had a room at the back and it was tiny, but clean and comfortable. The bed is on a platform so there is a step up to get in, then it is like a mattress on the floor. There is no counter space in the bathroom so it's a bit tricky to store and use your personal care items. There is a balcony with a small table and chairs, but it is shared with the room next door. It rained quite a bit during our stay, so we didn't use the balcony, but there is a view of the sea from it. There were bikes and umbrellas available in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was large and delicious. The fresh squeezed orange juice was a real treat! The seafood restaurant recommended by the front desk was quite good. We found the people of Chania to be friendly and the town itself charming. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelZo6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Porto Veneziano Hotel has a good location at one end of the old town harbour. There are lots of restaurants nearby, and the shops and services are a short walk away.

The hotel has been recently renovated, so the rooms look modern and clean. There is all the normal furniture and decoration in a neutral style. The advantages of the room are free minibar and safe and a balcony. After reading the descriptions about "soundproof" doors on the hotel website I was slightly surprised to hear discussions in the neighbouring room and in the corridor. In any case, the hotel was relatively quiet.

What I liked most were the really friendly staff and good breakfast buffet: fresh orange juice, local specialties from pastries and cheeses to herbal teas, delicious Greek yoghurt with honey and confitures were a good start for a day.

Room Tip: View to the sea is really beautiful, so it might be worth some extra euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maril_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

It's a really lovely hotel. The rooms are recently refurbished, a little small, but you only sleep in them! Staff are very friendly and efficient, and the area at the end of the harbour is so well provided with restaurants, you can eat in a different one every night. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 113 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 113 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 113 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 113 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 113 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#5 of 113 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Town, Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing