We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nikos Apartments(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Ottomane(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Filoxenia(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Splanzia(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Odos Oneiron(Chania Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bozzali(Chania Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveler rating
1,099
250
31
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,099
250
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet endold townsea viewvenetian harbourexcellent hotelfresh orange juiceperfect locationwater fronthotel is locatedwatch the worldexcellent breakfastbreakfast roomreception staffmini barthird floorsmall balconyharbour front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I only stayed for a night as a business traveler. I only had a few hours to relax and this hotel offered me everything I needed. Excellent location, helpful staff, new modern rooms with great beds and a great breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Manos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The facility is brilliant, the breakfast very nice with lots of choices. The staff was helpful and pleasant but not always informed. The WIFI has a one device per sign-in that was a little annoying, but you won't spend much time online. The view the people and the food was fantastic. While in Chania take the Segway tour.

Room Tip: Ask for bay side the people watching from the balcony was great
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnscottross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. This Hotel is like 5 star hotel. The room is very clean and modern style. The mini bar was filled with water/beer/drinks every day. The staff was very kind whenever I see them. The breakfast was excellent. This hotel is located in old harbor and in excellent location. The hotel has their bicyles, and they are free of charge to rent them. We had great time in this old harbor area. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleLoveMinoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid-October. It's located directly on the harbour, with many restaurants outside the doors. Very helpful and pleasant staff. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of fresh foods, including fruit, yogurt, cereals, eggs, breads, cakes, meats, etc. It was especially pleasant to be able to go to the patio on the water's edge to enjoy breakfast - the views are lovely.
Hotel is located within easy walking (5 minutes or less) to the old town. As a result, the area around this hotel doesn't suffer from the noise of the old town. Unlike many of the old town hotels, this one is modern, very clean, and just a great place to stay while in Chania.

Room Tip: I had a side room overlooking a street with a partial ocean view, and pleasant balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Following its total refurbishment, this hotel is superbly comfortable but its additional plus point is its breakfast.
I have had the pleasure of travelling to Greece since 1959. Then a breakfast was the Greek version of continental breakfast at its most basic but also delicious. It was "vouteromeli" i.e a saucer smeared with fresh butter and in the middle a large lake of local honey (not the horrid processed stuff you get in factory tins!) together with fresh crusty bread. On the islands, this bread usually came from true wood ovens and the meal was a joy accompanied as it was by a Greek coffee. Later in the 60s and 70s as more hotels came along , they provided their version of a continental breakfast. Packet rusks or "tost" and prepacked single packs of butter, a pre-pack of "marmelade" (horrid factory jam), some slices of dry bought cake, a glass of some orange-coloured substance which bore little or no relation to a true fresh orange drink and the dreaded nescafe.
The better hotels began to offer buffet breakfasts: I recall being on Naxos around Easter rather a long time ago and there were cold red-painted hard-boiled eggs on offer as well as local cheese and honey. This was a major improvement.
The Porto Veneziano has advanced way beyond this. It has, I think, around 57 rooms which are usually full. That means breakfast for around 100 people every morning. The hotel provides a brilliant range of both "European" as well as Cretan food.

I purloined a copy of the menu, gourmand that I am, and it makes excellent reading (and even better eating).
I like orange juice. You take your glass to be filled and refilled at the machine, which crushes the juice from the oranges before your eyes, as many times as you wish. There are other fruit juices also. Several types of coffee and black and herbal teas. When you come to bread there is a terrific range of white, dark and other breads which you can, if you prefer, toast yourself to your own preferred degree of combustion, as well as the international croissants and pastry goods. (There are also local cheese and spinach pies). I never had room to sample the home-made vanilla and chocolate cakes or the vast display of fresh fruit on offer but I always found a corner for some of the delicious local biscuits - cinnamon, nutty, almond and honey etc.
You could eat Cretan as well as more common main dishes - from omelettes with a range of contents and fried eggs and bacon and sausages to dakos, a range of cold meats, feta, graviera, goat's cheese, sliced cheese, accompanied if you wish by sliced tomato, pepper, olives of every size and hue, cucumber, as well as cereals, yoghurt both cow's and sheep's and a bowl of thyme honey for you to help yourself from with the aid of a honey twizzler. I used to dress my yoghurt also with dried fruits and seeds and nuts and it is scarcely surprising that I am now rather too many pounds heavier than when I started my holiday. I shall forbear from mentioning the spoon-sweets, the pralines, preserves and compotes and home made puddings and other desserts.....(why I am writing this on a dark gale-swept evening in UK? I should be back in Crete).
I think this hotel is excellent in all regards: the staff are outstanding in their approach and welcoming manner of dealing even with a cranky old fogy like me

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snurdbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews