We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I really enjoyed the hospitality and breakfast. Service (Reception and waitresses) was excellent. My room was quite small. The breakfast was served in front of the port without though being crowded. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Vassilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

best location,
beautiful view,
fresh breakfast with traditional products ,
free bicycle ,
free mini bar,
tiny but very clean and renovated rooms,
the staff was very friendly and the check in took only 2 minutes...
IT S 5 STARS HOTEL NOT 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
we highly recommed!!!!

Room Tip: the front rooms are the best with full sea view (harbor view) . i asked for a room with sea view, af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank achpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I just stayed for one night in an individual room with view for the harbour. I did late check in and was very welcomed. The staff was very friendly and gave all the necessary information. The bedroom was fantastic for one single person with large bed, renovated and very clean. Breakfast had everything and with food of very good quality. In summary, I felt I was in a hotel minimum 4 stars :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First time we came to Crete in business - in the year of innocence 1994, we had a recommendation from an old friend and business partner for this hotel, which was part of Western Hotels then.
Whenever we have come afterwards to Chania, we stayed there. The friendly and professional services, the long lasting, well known employees, the polite and knowing manager – all this convinced us to not chose the cheepest house - though the best. And whenever we looked at the new luxury hotels which occured afte our first visits, we returned to Porto Veneziano.
Regard the unique view from the rooms to the old venetion port, regard the year for year improving breakfast offers. And finally regard the improvement of the style and comfort of all rooms, especially the bathrooms.
We think, we really have found friends at that place and will return as often as we can. Big, big recommendation!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic location right on the harbour side - was lovely to enjoy breakfast on the waters edge and also drinks before and after dinner. Staff were very helpful - rooms excellent, especially if you get a sea view

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The title is not an exaggeration. Very comfortable rooms, hospitable staff, rich and tasty breakfast, nice location!

The room I stayed had several nice details making the stay very enjoyable especially considering the value paid. The bed and the pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is cleverly designed and there is enough free space even for a single room.

All in all, I liked very much my stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank escritorlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the third year we have stayed here and we have always been very happy with it.
The rooms were dated, but now they have been refurbished they are excellent.
The suite now has sliding doors to separate the seating area from the bedroom, which works well.
The free drinks in the mini bar are also a nice touch.

The staff are excellent, very helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is good, with a broad selection of options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $104 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing