We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, location was amazing, room was clean with amazing view from the balcony. All the staff were helpfull, breakfast was good and wide choice, everything was within walking distance , mini bar was free , all the staff went out their way to make our stay a great one ! This was a lovely all round wonderful hotel , cannot fault it at all.

Room Tip: Front of hotel with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krystina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the best location at old port very close to all shops and restaurants
The breakfast is very good
Rooms are renovated and clean
Staff is very polite
The best hotel you can choose in Chania

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KonstantinosZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This a great hotel in a wonderful location overlooking the harbour and on main promenade the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The only negative with this stay was our room location although the staff tried to ameliorate. We booked some months ago requesting an ocean view instead we we got a good view of the parking lot. So when u book make sure what u are getting.

Room Tip: Make them tell u what your view will be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This lovely hotel is situated at the eastern end of the charming port in old Chania. Beautiful Venetian architecture and plenty to gaze at from your balcony. Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the ambience is lovely and relaxing. We had a double room with sea view, number 107 which gave us a direct and unobstructed view of the port, lighthouse, boats and sea! The room wasn't huge because the bed is! Fabulous nights' sleep on a firm (but not too firm) mattress and pillows to die for. Huge shower and toiletries replenished as used. Desk with chair and another bucket style chair plus plenty of power points and wi-fi, flat screen TV and free mini bar which included water, soft drinks and beer. Breakfast can be eaten outside directly by the harbour and provided a huge selection of goodies to suit every taste and nationality. I would like to see marmalade in the preserves section - being British, it's what I prefer on my toast! A selection of different breads for eating as is or to toast, preserves, honey, cute biscuits to go with your coffee, yoghurt of course, cereals, plain omelettes, various Cretan omelettes, bacon, egg, dried fruits and compotes, fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice! Phew! The hotel is situated at the quieter end of the harbour but only 10-15 minutes walk from shops and nightlife, meaning you can retire away from the hustle and bustle and get a good and peaceful night. The climate control in the room worked beautifully and the cunning tip and tilt balcony door is great if you like proper fresh air at night. Another nice touch were the individual blackout blind on each door giving you the ability to really control the amount of light in the room and without having to draw the curtains. I would highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Chania!

Room Tip: I would recommend a sea view room and if you are a couple that prefers more space, book a triple roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieC3455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I just got here today we love the place the staff are wonderful the room has been nicely renovated, very clean and fresh. The view of the marina is awesome. The mini bar is included....free. They said if we didn't feel like going down for the free breakfast they would do room service no charge. The location is wonderful and easy to get to. Surrounded by history.

Room Tip: If you book make sure to ask for a sea view room or you could end up with a town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved this hotel, perhaps the best out of our stay in Crete, although casa delfino is tops as well. The rooms have recently been very tastefully upgraded and we had a triple with a.separation for our teenage son which worked perfectly. Our room had a balcony overlooking the harbour, charmingly romantic. I could have gazed on it for longer than the one night we unfortunately only had left. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, you could even have breakfast in your room until 12 noon! We will definitely return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank turngold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during our Crete vacation. This hotel was recommended by our fabulous travel agency Fantasy Travel and Greece blogger Matt Barrett. This hotel was totally updated within the last year and is wonderful. Upon checking in we were told the mini bar in the room would be free and re stocked daily during our stay. Also, every morning a full breakfast that could be delivered to room free of charge included in our stay. Needless to say, both myself and husband were thrilled. Staff, rooms and location all excellant. Recommend room with balcony facing waterfront. This hotel is located on quiet end of old town waterfront which is much appreciated when we return to hotel at end of day to sleep. Lots of great fish taverns, shopping and site seeing within walking distance of hotel. Ask staff for their recommendations for dining and beaches. Great location to have as central location for exploring Crete.

Room Tip: Balcony facing waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljuncky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $106 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing