We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Veneziano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fantastic location right on the water surrounded by restaurants and bars (very inexpensive restaurants with great food), wonderfully friendly staff, extremely comfortable beds and fresh rooms. The breakfast was incredible - replenished up to and including the closing time of 10:30 am. Free wi-fi in rooms and free mini-bar (which all hotels should have but few do). My only, very minor complaint, is that there is only one mirror which is in the bathroom, hard to get ready when your spouse is in there. Stay here, you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: Get a sea-view, worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancasterdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lykourgos_Tzardis, Marketing Manager at Porto Veneziano Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear esteemed guest,

I'd like to thank you for your kind words on our hotel. It brings us great joy and satisfaction reading such a review from a reviewer such as yourself who, as I noticed, spends time in 4.5/5* establishments!

Regarding the second mirror, I would like to assure you that it is a project that will be completed in the coming weeks. As our rooms and suites are fully renovated, we still have some work-in-progress to complete and we are waiting for the high season to tone down in order to carry out the works with minimum disturbance for our in-house guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words on our hotel & services

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Porto Veneziano

Best Regards,

L. Tzardis
Marketing Manager
Porto Veneziano Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    216
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
142
575
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Porto Veneziano again this year during our visit to Chania, and as always, the service was excellent. Plus they re-did the rooms which was a bonus. For next yeasr's visit to Crete, I won't even bother to look at another hotel. Special shout-out to Katerina and Agapi who add to the customer service of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Man D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed with another 3 girls at Porto Veneziano. The rooms although small were super comfortable and very clean, the hotel staff were a;ways helpful and kind. The location of the hotel is fantastic. truly enjoyed breakfast and late night drinks at the hotel looking at the harbor. After a 10 minute walk we found ourselves in the buzzing centre however at the hotel we heard nothing of the noise of the many bars, restaurants and little shops that were so near. All around the hotel was lovely cheap and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank antigonie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfáda, Attiki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Porto Veneziano is an excellent hotel.We enjoyed our holidays very much.The rooms where great and the hotel has very good facilities!The breakfast was perfect ann all the staff was kind and helpfull!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Costas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOVERLY BANKS VICTORIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

All you could ask for in a hotel. Wonderful staff from reception to bar. Lovely clean room relaxed atmosphere and amazing location. 10 out of 10 I would recommend the Porto Veneziano to anyone. Well done Chania

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from Chania, and the Porto Veneziano Hotel for the second year running, the renovations for our stay this time were unbelievable, so fresh and modern, comfortable and clean. A wonderful breakfast room with attentive staff and delicious food. The staff in the bar, George , Nick and Matilda are friendly and a wealth of information about the area..The reception team were also helpful, George is also easy on the eye. Don't forget to look for the old fisherman whom, every day comes to fish at the harbor, sits on his chair for hours outside the hotel in the sunshine, don't foget to tip him when you take a photo..You will not regret a visit to the porto Veneziano Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbor view are wonderful also quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Although the hotel is very conveniently located at the old port,which is less than 10 minutes walk from the center, it is somehow detached from the noise of the city. The staff were very well trained and mannered with wonderful smiles, which is rather rare in Greece. And the hotel rate was a real value too.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite which was quite spacious with very reasonable rate. You can enjoy beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukihiro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Town, Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing