We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JohnPecsek43”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Porto Veneziano is an excellent choice for a hotel in Chania. After touring the town and viewing all of the other hotels, i was very satisified that my choice could not have been better. The location was right on the water with a lovely view across from the lighthouse and the marina.You are only a very short walking distance from the restaurants and all of the gift shops but not so close where any night life would disturb your sleep.
The hotel staff was very friendly and would help you with anything you needed. With the hotel being recently renovated, it looked brand new throughout.
The breakfast buffet had everything you would want and a very clean setting! After eight days there my time was up and had to return home. Sure hated to leave such a nice area and hotel. I would highly recommend the Porto Veneziano for your stay in Chania!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have the water view but cost a little more. But who wants to vacation in a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jpecsek43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The rooms are a little on the small size, we could not open our suitcases anywhere except on the bed, but the rest of the hotel is spot on. The bathroom is large and clean. The reception staff is fantastic and so helpful. We wanted to hike, but were not able to spend all day on the Samaria Gorge. After much deliberation and consultation, the perfect hike was found for us and it was.
The location of this hotel is so nice, easy to walk to great restaurants, but away from the noise and crowds. The breakfast room and staff were very professional. They have free parking, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location was excellent. Impossible to get lost or to not be able to find it, because it is located at the base of the walkway out to the lighthouse and that is clearly marked on every map. Walking distance to everything in the city, including the main bus station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The quality of the accommodation was decent, but not necessarily luxurious. No issues with cleanliness. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michaejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

An excellent choice for a short visit to celebrate my birthday. Beautifully clean and bright with a lovely view. Breakfast was amazing both quantity and quality.

The only disappointment was that the fridge in the room did not really keep the drinks cool.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Definitely worth having a sea view room although balcony was small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DennisNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel and enjoyed meals at the neighbouring restaurants.
The rooms were comfortable, clean, just a bit small. Personnel very nice and helpful, also with my mothers wheelchair. Breakfast very nice and great choices.

Room Tip: have not seen swimmig pool or fitness center, can be my fault....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marieke542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

At the east end of Chania's old city we enjoyed a serene and comfortable two nights. The hotel sits far enough from the summer crowds to enhance its amenities: gorgeous views from the balconies, clean and well-appointed rooms, a generous breakfast, thoughtful staff members, and a charming interior courtyard. I've been coming to Chania for years and Porto Veneziano offers an alternative to the renovated old buildings of the Venetian and Turkish quarters. Those buildings have their charms but there's a lot to be said for not hitting your head on doorways and not slipping on steep staircases. This hotel is professionally run and beautifully renovated.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank touBabington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very nice hotel. Rooms are on the small side but very comfortable. Good breakfast (included on my trip). I was on the top floor and the views of the port and sunset are beautiful. Very nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
1,116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $104 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing