We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only stayed 1 night and got the last available room so didn't have much of a choice. But because they weren't able to accommodate our request for a habour view they provided us with a bottle of wine on ice with a fruit basket in our room, which was a lovely touch.
Breakfast was good, and great to eat on the harbour side.
It's located on the quiet side of the harour with much less hustle and foot traffic than the other end, and still within very easy walking range of everything you need to see and do.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    222
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
148
593
73
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Chania is a beautiful city with lots of accomodation ranging from the exhorbitant to the plain ugly.This hotel has a wonderful position facing the harbour,but well away from the plethora of noisy"drag you in restaurants" that line the western end of the harbour.It also benefits from a soft breeze that allows you to remain refreshed.The rooms are spoltlessly clean,well furnished and some have balconys with stunning sea views ,especially at sunset.The service is very friendly and professional.Breakfast is a feast with enormous choice which you can eat either inside or outside facing the sea or in a small well kept garden area.Car parking is near but check your maps ,sat-nav or i phone to get directions.
We have stayed here for one night on each of our visits to crete(4) and it is a great base too explore the beautiful city of Chania.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing,non smoking room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gareth47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I've stayed here before and each time I'm amazed at the level of customer service provided by every member of this wonderful staff. The location is perfect ... quiet enough and yet close to everything you want to see and do in the old Venetian harbor. The breakfast is excellent. We stayed for four days and then stayed three nights in Paleochora ... Porto Veneziano let us leave our large luggage with them and we took smaller bags with us for Paleochora ... even though we had already checked out of the Porto Veneziano.

Agapi, Georgia ... and all the other wonderful people who helped make our stay great ... thank you and see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Man D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at Porto Veneziano for a wedding party recently. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself was perfectly situated at the end of the Chnia harbor, right on the water but blissfully away from the insanity of the tourist areas. The hotel stay inlcuded breakfast, which was ok, but also provided a small and charming cafe' right on the harbor in front of the hotel. The best thing about the hotel was the staff and service though.

As for the rooms, they were clean and tidy, but the beds in the single bedroom were hopelessly small, and the furnishings depressing and very simple. the bathrooms were clean and well stocked though the showers were very basic as well. All in all, the price paid would have been more justified with better room fixtures, especially since the views of the rooms on the posterior side of the hotel are of shabby streets and a garbage dump of a parking lot.

Room Tip: the single bedroom is tiny and the bed will not fit a large man. make sure to ask for a bigger bed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel as it was very reasonably priced given the location. The room was fine, yes the bathroom was tiny but the balcony more than made up for that, the view is unbeatable, really beautiful scene over the harbour. The staff were so friendly and helpful. You can park the car for free nearby if you ask the receptionist she will tell you where it is, and you can drive up to right outside to unload your bags. The breakfast was really good, so much choice and we sat out by the harbour. The hotel was spotless. We spent the first night of our honeymoon here (when they realised they sent a bottle of bubbly in ice up to the room immediately -lovely gesture), it was just meant to be a stopover near the airport for our first night, but I would have been happy to spend many more nights here after seeing it. There is no pool but a lovely beach just round the corner which wasn't too busy. All in all a great start to our honeymoon x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaChamney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located at the quieter end of the harbour but is very pretty with the better restaurants closer by. It's about a 20 minute walk along the harbour to reach the beach and all bars, boat tours and restaurants are along this walk. Service couldn't have been better, very friendly and helpful staff. room and bathroom quite small but kept very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 14 nights from 24th July and thought it was the perfect place to stay while visiting Chania. It's right on the old harbour and has spectacular views from the balcony. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfasts are delicious and the hotel is immaculately clean throughout. It also has a bar serving light snacks and drinks. It's situated at the end of the harbour so is fairly peaceful while being only a few meters away from the hustle and bustle of the old town. Some reviews mention about the bathrooms being small - but it really doesn't matter, they're plenty big enough. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you Porto Veneziano. Rose and Vince Cantrill UK

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it's must! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing