We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, very descent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived there without booking after a horrible experience at an alternate hotel in Chania. Peak season in Chania is not a great time to look for an unreserved room for a week with a sea view and a balcony but we were lucky to be looking for a suite and willing to spend a considerable amount of money for greek standards. The cons first. The suite was not as big as it should, the beds were mediocre and the bathroom was too small and weirdly shaped. But it was perfectly clean, it had two balconies with the amazing view of the venecian port and room service was prompt in whatever we asked. The hotel is located in most probably the best square to stay in Chania if you'll be wandering around the old part of town, minutes of walk away from everything. The hotel staff is courteous and very helpful, they even had some cool recommendations on where to eat and where to get drinks. Overall, our stay was pleasant and the price of the suite, although not a bargain, was reasonable. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

Visited Chania last year for business trip and chose Porto Veneziano because I read the reviews and viewed the relative photos. It seemed lovely and it was indeed lovely. Located in the heart of Chania's old port and within walking distance of Chania's centre, the hotel is really a fantastic place to stay when in Chania. Super clean rooms, quiet and relaxing atmosphere and very polite staff. Not great balconies though. But it had great breakfast and the whole atmosphere was very positive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get the front view rooms since they look at the port while the back rooms have no view at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromgr2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have read the other reviews and agree completely about the wonderful location but.there were some deficits which mean i would not recomend this hotel especially for a longer stay..We only stayed for 2 nights.
They have 2 floors for smokers,5 floors altogether, which means that you have a high chance of being allocated one of these. Fortunately we had opted for nonsmoking but we could not opt for a seaview due to this as we would find it so unpleasant.However we liked the balcony and the partial seaview
The bed was another hard slab and even my husband found it uncomfortable! The bathroom was basic and the breakfast uninspiring but adequate. The airconditioning was necessary and worked.
It is easy to walk around the town from here and the tavernas at this end of town are less touristy.
We were glad that we had not booked longer although sorry to leave the town itself. Ihad a regret that we had not found somewhere more memorable

Room Tip: specify smoking or nonsmoking when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

• I had a rental car with no GPS and it was extremely difficult to find this hotel. I had to park and walk around the town until I could locate it on foot. When I got to reception (by foot), hot, tired & frustrated, I checked in and told them that I needed help driving the rental car closer. The reception staff merely pulled out a map and pointed out the closest parking lot, which did not help at all. I guess I was hoping that someone would come with me and help me find a closer parking spot. But anyways, when I finally parked, about 3 blocks away, I had to drag my suitcase through the streets to get back to the hotel. Extremely frustrating.
• Location Location Location. This hotel is located in the Old Town right on the water. Very convenient. Makes it very easy to stay out for a later night.
• Small room but has a balcony.
• Pay per item Mini bar in room.
• Mini Market is about two blocks away.
• Shower is very small. About 3x3.
• Breakfast is OK. Not much for hot food. But there is a machine that squeezes fresh orange juice.
• Free Wi-fi.
• The bed is comprised of two twin beds pushed together.
• Reception staff is not very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cara_calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel is very old, bathroom is a hole in the wall. The view is extremely nice and is actually at the quieter end of the tourist area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbleSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This was a hotel with excellent views of the harbor, ocean and Venetian lighthouse. The central location in the old town makes touring the harbor and shops very easy. The hotel is not new, but very well maintained and very clean.

Room Tip: Try to get an oceanview/harbor view room on the 3rd or 4th floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jblack49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of July.

I had read other reviews on Trip Advisor, and everything is 100% true.

You book this hotel for the location - right on the old harbour front, easy walk to all the bars and restaurants - absolutely perfect. I really cannot fault this at all. It was just what we wanted for our last 2 nights in Greece.

The hotel is a good 3* standard - yes, the rooms are pretty basic and a bit small and yes, the bathrooms are VERY small - you do almost have to stand in the shower tray to close / open the door - but the rooms are clean, the bed was comfortable, and the house keeping good, and the staff were incredibly friendly,

The breakfast was not the best spread I have seen, the orange juice squeezer was the highlight, but it is what you would expect from a 3* hotel.

I would come back here again without a shadow of doubt, purely because of the hotel's location. You really cannot ask for better for the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelButlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
892 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
430 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#9 of 111 in Chania Town
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $104 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing