We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kalnterimi

Kalnterimi
Ranked #105 of 406 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hard to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed a stones throw from this restaurant and almost found it by mistake on our first day in Chania. Th staff are really friendly and the food is fresh and excellent we had swordfish kebabs as a snack one afternoon and they were superb, the apaki (local smoked pork) was the best we had in Crete. The area around the restaurant in very quiet and is a great place to sit and watch the world go by. Worth seeking out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Ate here three times in as many days. Beautiful freshly prepared food. Was a recommendation from the staff at Alcanea definately worth return visits. Had the stuffed tomato,tuna steak, lamb was exceptional. Waiter -Mythos, is superb guy, Helpful, great company and informative. You really feel like your at home with best home cooked ,fresh food.The setting is beautiful,in a picturesque,quiet street,so pretty. Great for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We ate here 3 times when we visited Chania. Food was very good and tasty. Service was excellent. They know how You make feel at home Location is great. We can't wait to go back there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiertolainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ate here again and again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We discovered this place as it was very close to where we were staying (Iason Studios) on the first night we were in Chania. Started off with the Souvlaki and Lamb chops, absolutely delicious! What was really wonderful was the service, excellent service, and very welcoming and friendly but not at all pressing and talkative as some of the places (especially on the harbor). Value for money was great, and we continued to frequent the place 3 more times during our stay!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoeliacChick16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A real chef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The spot is perfect. Walk up Angelou, Chania's nicest street, and you will walk straight into this ambitious and yet intimate place, where tourists, expats and locals mix for two reasons: the excellent food and the good company.

There is a real chef in the kitchen upstairs.He makes the best Cretan food, but he also stretches the limits with curry and other spices. If you spend many weeks in Crete, as we do, you need the change.

The good "parea" often spills between the tables and more than once we have continued our night in a bar down the street with other guests and, eventually, the staff from the restaurant. Isn't that what life is about? Good food and company, and making new friends. It all happens here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalnterimi also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kalnterimi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing