We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb botique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 114 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

At the end of a two week trip to Greece, I had a weekend in Chanía and wanted somewhere nice to stay. By chance I found Fatma Hanoum, and how lucky I was! Many places market themselves as a "botique hotel" but few manage to live up to the label as this place does. A small selection of beautiful rooms, well appointed with superbly comfortable beds, ipod dock, wifi, complimentary sikoudia, etc; a delicious Greek breakfast buffet (fantastic sfakia pita and honey - and really delicious strong coffee!); a charming sun terrace on the roof; and smiling, polite, multilingual staff who do everything they can to make your stay perfect. It was like being welcomed as a VIP. I will go back here on every stay to Chanía.

Room Tip: Guzel is the only room with a bath - and it is a wonderful deep bath. Easily big enough for two - or...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 280 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Room was beautifully designed, bed wonderfully comfortable, facilities excellent, a complete pleasure to be in. Breakfast was a rare treat with great food in lovely surroundings. Position of the hotel was perfect. Right in the heart of the old town so a few metres from the harbour, the shops and restaurants but an oasis of peace and comfort as soon as you stepped back inside the hotel. However, the best part of it all was the staff. Very friendly and helpful hardly describes it. They were a real pleasure to be with and, despite the undoubted wonders of Chania, we would find ourselves looking forward to returning to the Fatma Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a brief stay recently... but the personalized attention from Marianna made sure we had a wonderful experience at Chania. Right from reminding us about taking the beach towels for our trip to Elafonisi to getting our breakfast ready early in the morning for the trip, Marianna made sure we made the most of our 2 days in Chania.
I must also mention the ever-helpful Martha who even remembered to offer the Davidoffs as a farewell gift... how can a smoker not mention this.
Fatma is a quaint little place just about a minutes walk from the harbour-front. The rooms are done up tastefully with every modern amenity - I must also mention the iPod dock (my son was delighted to be able to play his music aloud).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Uttio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Fatma Hanoum during our honeymoon trip to Greece. We spent time in Athens as well as Crete, Santorini, and Mykonos, and our stay at Fatma Hanoum in Chania was our favorite part of the trip. The newly remodeled hotel is beautiful and charming. The design is modern yet distinctly Cretan with playful design details. For example, the rooms are labeled with girls' names instead of numbers, and tasteful neon lights illuminate ornate wall patterns in the halls. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable with great beds and bathroom accommodations.

We also enjoyed the breakfast--it's generous and has a variety of foods.

The staff was very friendly and genuinely wanted to make our stay spectacular, like good friends welcoming us in their home. Thank you Fatma Hanoum!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mafsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is absolutely gorgeous wonderful hotel in the heart of Chania.
I can say thousands nice words about this place.
It is in a great location.
My room was beautiful, had charming balcony & super comfortable bed.
Breakfast was fantastic! Service was great!!!
True amazing gem in the historical part of city.
A huge number of restaurants and shops are around the corner & harbour is just 10 steps away. It is also very close to the Venetian Port, Archaeological Museum (must see), Cathedral and gorgeous Lighthouse.
Two great girls at the reception were very helpful. They gave me all info I need about places to see, to eat, to rest, to have fun. They also helped me with renting a car, got me a nice taxi driver, who on the way to airport showed more places around the city (& took pictures for me) at no additional cost.
They made my stay wonderful in every way! Thank you very much!
If I go back to Chania, I would stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great location in Chania in the old quarter near the harbor and in the middle of the lovely pedestrianized area. Marianna provided exceptional and personalized service. The room itself was very comfortable, had every amenity we could have wanted and a relaxing balcony, and we slept the best we did during an extended trip around Greece. Breakfast had great variety and everything we tried was fabulous. We got up early one morning to hike the Samaria Gorge and Marianna had prepared such an extensive packed breakfast for our outing that we had enough for breakfast and lunch (and an afternoon snack). If we have the opportunity to travel back to Crete, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the room called "Deniz," as it had a nice balcony overlooking the charmi...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

tucked away one street back from the harbour is this fabulous boutique hotel. Our room had everything you could want, lovely fittings down to bose ipod base. Extremely comfortable and the roof garden a delightful place to laze in the afternoon. Marianna and Martha very informative and helped us enjoy a great break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harrisparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
1,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 Skoufon | Old Harbour, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: $91 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow alley in the heart of the Old Harbour of Chania, you will find the Fatma Hanoum Hotel, an old mansion that harmoniously combines the Venetian and Ottoman architecture. It has been renovated with care and attention to detail and has been lovingly restored to its former glory. The architectural mix of wood and stone of the old building, the twinkling lights, the warm colors and the modern furnishings create an effect of romantic elegance, warmth and an intimate atmosphere that both relaxes and refreshes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing