We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Highlight of our visit to Crete”

Tour Crete with Lefteris Nikiforakis
Ranked #8 of 45 Tours in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Riverdale, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our visit to Crete”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Before we left home we made an online reservation to spend a day in Chania with "Leftie" Nikiforakis. Our day with him was a highlight of our time in Greece. He met us promptly at our hotel, in his clean and comfortable car. From the first moment we knew we would have a good tour. Lefteris was so friendly, with a good sense of humor. He drove carefully and safely. He took us to small villages, stopping along the way for treats of fresh fruit, local tea and pastry, and a delicious lunch under the trees. We stopped at historic sites, beautiful vistas, and drove through the most beautiful countryside that we wouldn't have seen without Leftie. He pointed out the vineyards, trees, and plants of the bountiful land; the white mountains; the blue sea. Along the way, we listened to Greek music in the car. Leftie volunteered to help us with our other travel plans, and went out of his way a few days later to deliver something to our hotel in Heraklion. We highly recommend Lefteris Nikiforakis- not to be missed in Crete. Joanne and Mike S.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    6
    7
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Time in Crete”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Three family members hired Taxi Tours of Crete. Our driver, Lefteris, or Lefty as he was also called, was wonderful. Our tour of 5 to 6 hours started in Iraklion with the old Venetian port,
the cathedral, the open market, the cemetery of Nikos Kazantzakis, an art show of paintings from a film made about El Greco, the ancient palace of the mysterious Minoan culture at Knossos (the true beginnings of Western civilization), a tour of the island going up into the mountains with a banquet feast at a small village and ended with a blitz tour of the archeological museum which Lefteris talked the attendant into letting us see even though it was closing time.
We were charmed by Lefteris who was a font of information, engaging in conversations about art, history, politics, mythology, agriculture (with stops to smell local herbs), etc. The people we met were delightful, friendly and welcoming. We felt as if we had really connected with Crete and its people in a way that we never could have with a large bus tour. One of us was an older person and the ability to be driven close to sites was a real boon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This guy is a gem!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

During our 5 days in Crete recently, we had the good fortune to employ Lefteris as our guide and driver. He is professional, courteous, has a wonderful sense of humour and is totally knowledgeable and passionate about his amazingly beautiful island of Crete.
Nothing was ever a problem - in fact he even stored our excess luggage for 7 days while we sailed around the Decodonese Islands. He was never late for any transfer or tour and if he couldn't manage a last minute service for us he always brought in one of his equally qualified friends to assist.
100% recommendation for Lefteris.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GCBSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day with Lefteris”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a day in Crete while on a cruise. We had a fantastic day with Lefteris. He toured us around the island within reach of where our cruise had docked. We saw some amazing sights, including the Palace of Knossos and beautiful parts of the coastline. But early on he determined that we were very interested in local culture and food and geared much of our day surrounding that interest. We tried some new foods and ultimately ended up at lunch as the only people at a very out-of-the-way place where we had fresh farm-raised and garden grown foods and wine. It was really fantastic and was one of the highlights of a two week vacation. I would highly recommend spending a day with Lefteris.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rpmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week in Crete”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had read about ‘Lefteris the Famous Taxi Driver’ on several websites and wrote to him to ask him to be our guide and driver on our trip to Crete at the end of April 2013. He drove us around western Crete for four of our six days on the island over a total distance of about 1000 kilometres. For the entire time he was with us, Lefteris was a charming, delightful and generous companion. His knowledge of Cretan history and plant life is immense and his pride in what Crete has to offer its visitors always evident. I particularly loved the cafes and tavernas he found for us to sample as many of the local culinary specialities as we could manage. Two sensations I will never forget: sage tea with thyme honey served to us by a local priest at a roadside café; Cretan yoghurt, also with thyme honey, discovered in a village taverna. Lefteris is a considerate and careful driver and his car is immaculate. He was always punctual and insisted that, whether he was driving us or not, for the entire time we were in Crete, he was there to solve our problems. He made our time in Crete an extraordinarily rich and memorable experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour Crete with Lefteris Nikiforakis also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Tour Crete with Lefteris Nikiforakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing