We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice staff but a few order problems”
Review of Akrogiali Taverna

Akrogiali Taverna
Ranked #6 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food and nice staff but a few order problems”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice this week and I would go again. On the first visit the food was good but one main was incorrect- this was quickly sorted out plus some free wine as compensation. On the second occasion a started was omitted, then a starter and a main arrived, the second main 15 mins later- all a bit out of synch. The food however was all good and the staff very nice so I would go back - seafood souvlaki and mussels in tomatoe and feta sauce esp nice

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brightonandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,308
    354
    105
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
241 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent fish taverna in Chania's new town”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

A short walk, but a world away, from the full on tourism of the harbour. Very unprepossessing restaurant building, with a lovely sea view. The fish, as you might expect being so near the sea, was first class (the usual pick your own) and the prawns were fresh. Decent house wine, good salad, fave, tzatziki. Friendly service. High quality, reasonable prices. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Bravo for Kostas!!! Superb restaurant”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the place! Wonderful food in the perfect location, with not-too-formal setting and the most friendly host one can imagine. We are foodies and in our travels we often focus on discovering local cuisine and ingredients. We try to eat around, and we tried some other restaurants in Chania but after our first dinner at Akrogiali Taverna we kept coming back and ate there four times during one weekend! Everything we tried was excellent, with fried mullets, softest and freshest bream and exciting raw sea urchins being our favorite!

We let Kostas (the owner) to help us with our selection and during the last two meals there we just told him to bring us what he thinks is the best on the menu today. We were constantly amazed! The prices are right, comparable to most restaurants in Chania but what you get can not be compared!

My personal Michelin star goes to Akrogiali Taverna

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redsnapper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food next to the sea-ideal for families”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice location, good food, good for families with children because you can swim and then combine it with lunch, relaxed and at the same time buzzy atmoshpere. Greek family Taverna

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place furnished with taste and attention to detail stands out on this waterfront street. The food is as great as the interior design. We had two starters - great halumi cheese and stuffed peppers, then grilled fish and rabbit stew (stifado). Starters were very good, so was the fish - my wife said this was probably the best fish she had ever. Rabbit stifado was decent, though I already ate same dish elsewhere and it wasn't as good here. At the end we did get desserts on the house as is the custom in Crete - milfei was heavenly.

Service was friendly and attentive. To my surprise our waiter was Russian so my rusty Russian proved quite useful as my Greek is limited to few words as was her English. The guy who was probably the owner spoke passable English though, so you don't have to fluent in Slavic languages to visit this place.

Overall: highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akrogiali Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Parigoria, Chania Town
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Akrogiali Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing