We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and friendly”
Review of To Stachi

To Stachi
Ranked #3 of 424 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty and friendly”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very tasty bio food and extremely friendly service. You are given the choice of ordering half-plates if you like trying different stuff. My favourite is chestnut stifado. Very tasty salads too!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    158
    47
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and truly memorable hosts”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I can't emphasize how much of an amazing experience it was to visit To Stachi. We are so thankful to Stelios and Zeta for their hospitality during our visit, and of course for the beautiful unpretentious, slow-cooked vegetarian food on offer. After we left we had that "warm fuzzy" feeling... almost as if we'd just been to our grandparent's house for lunch, haha.

Their menu seems very much subject to availability, but not in a bad way at all... It is only the freshest ingredients, made with love, on a daily basis (Stelios, the chef, explained how he sources it himself).

You could taste the difference in every bite - we had a cheese and asparagus pastry, spinach and rice, and chestnut stew. It was all so hearty and filling, but tasted so wholesome and healthy at the same time. (And prices extremely reasonable - all up around 30 euro for 3 meals, bread, fresh juice and complimentary dessert. We would have willingly paid more for food of this freshness and quality.)

After we'd finished, Stelios invited us into his kitchen to show us how he prepared the food and offered us a sample of some other dishes he'd just finished (but we had to politely decline, we were already stuffed!) Stelios and his wife's passion for genuinely fresh, tasty vegetarian food was so wonderful to experience. We only regret we visited here on our very last day in Greece, would have returned again if we had the chance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey_J_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No matter if you are vegetarian or not, this place is a MUST!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The owner of Stachis is a truly charming personality, genuine person and incredible food! It is all made with love and care, he even makes his own bread every morning and cooks according to what his garden gave him this week!
Real Cretan food, true cretan hospitality.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food from the Heart”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a family run restaurant in every way. You feel as if you are a special guest in the arms of the husband and wife who run the restaurant. The chef puts his own spin on local dishes and You can't go wrong with ordering. We also enjoyed Chef Stelios' company as he sat down and talked about eating wholesome foods and his passion toward fresh, organic food. It really was a memorable experience that any visitor would look for and enjoy while traveling in a foreign country.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
“Great Hospitality ;-D!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

First of all I wanna say about the owner of the restaurant ... It is an amyzing man, who ejoys what he does !!! He told us that his children don't know the taste of meat and they are very healthy and goodlooking guys ;-D!!!
The food ... It is GREAT !!! Very tasty boureki and I hope that everyone who reads this will have the same experience as me ;-D!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhateverMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Stachi also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Parigoria, Chania Town
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To Stachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing