We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No matter if you are vegetarian or not, this place is a MUST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of To Stachi

To Stachi
Ranked #5 of 403 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“No matter if you are vegetarian or not, this place is a MUST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The owner of Stachis is a truly charming personality, genuine person and incredible food! It is all made with love and care, he even makes his own bread every morning and cooks according to what his garden gave him this week!
Real Cretan food, true cretan hospitality.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    140
    45
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food from the Heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a family run restaurant in every way. You feel as if you are a special guest in the arms of the husband and wife who run the restaurant. The chef puts his own spin on local dishes and You can't go wrong with ordering. We also enjoyed Chef Stelios' company as he sat down and talked about eating wholesome foods and his passion toward fresh, organic food. It really was a memorable experience that any visitor would look for and enjoy while traveling in a foreign country.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
“Great Hospitality ;-D!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

First of all I wanna say about the owner of the restaurant ... It is an amyzing man, who ejoys what he does !!! He told us that his children don't know the taste of meat and they are very healthy and goodlooking guys ;-D!!!
The food ... It is GREAT !!! Very tasty boureki and I hope that everyone who reads this will have the same experience as me ;-D!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhateverMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home cooking vegetarian bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We accidentally came across this family run bistro just behind the main run of shops/bars that line the edge of the Old Venetian Harbour. We were on a day trip from a cruise ship, so we were most definitely NOT hungry, but we were tempted in by the appearance of the place and the hospitality of the family plus the proudly displayed Travelzoo sticker in the window. If anyone could be an advert for the health benefits of a vegetarian diet it is the owner`s children (who are now grown up). We didn`t know what to choose from the extensive menu, so their father offered us a sample/tasting session of what he had ready in the kitchen. Out came a few dishes in very small quantities for us to share. Absolutely delicious with freshly cooked herbs and local produce. When we had finished these a few more tasters appeared and then more and more until we had sampled about a dozen different dishes. All were delightful and we washed them down with a jug of local wine. Then we saw the photos of how the place had been done up from a crumbling old wreck of a place to its present day `grandeur` by the owners. All in all we were made to feel very welcome, if not special, plus we sampled some bistro tastes that we have never had before. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Crete, then we shall certainly endevour to revisit T Stachi

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank charlotteawiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Example of Cretan Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This simple, little family restaurant is special. Although vegetarian, it is not just for vegetarians. Anybody who loves food will love eating the unique local flavors of Crete. Unlike many other restaurants nearby, your food will be lovingly prepared fresh -- no frozen food, nothing canned, nothing heated in the microwave oven (we visited on a slow day and the owner took us back into the Kitchen to show us what had had made that day). You really can tell the difference!

When our daughter loved the chestnut stew, the owner gave us the recipe and carefully explained how to cook it at home -- you don't get that at many restaurants -- but he said it would make him happy to know that we can take some of Crete back with us. Even though we were not staying in Chania, we drove back to Chania on another night just to eat here again.

Tip: Don't order off the menu -- just ask them what is fresh and good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unwilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Stachi also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Parigoria, Chania Town
 

Been to To Stachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing