We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A 60th birthday at Alcanea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 89 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A 60th birthday at Alcanea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My daughter booked us in here as a 60th birthday surprise. After a long haul from Sydney we were more than a little pleased to arrive at this accommodation. Met by the lovely hostess Alliki we were shown to our room and a bottle of chilled wine, fruit plate and birthday card they had kindly bought and written the words my daughter had requested. The balcony overlooked the entry to the harbour and the lighthouse. Stunning. The room was rustic and tasteful with a recently renovated bathroom done extremely well. Strong hot shower and big towels topped it off. After a reasonable sleep a bit jet lagged we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice fruit toast eggs etc. the huge plus for Alcanea is the location which is set back from the harbour front a little but still with great views. It allows you to enjoy the atmosphere without being harassed by spruikers enticing you to dine in their cafes and without different styles of music blaring around you. George chooses the music selection which ranges from classical to jazz and it is tastefully just a hint in the background. The hosts clearly love people and what they do. Highly recommend thos hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a view but you'll have to climb some very old stairs.. Quite a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    30
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
54
233
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I will definitely stay at Alcanea again when I return to Chania.

LOCATION: It is in a great location - in the charming Old Town and within walking distance of everything, including the bus depot if you want to take a day trip. On one of the 5 nights I stayed, there were a few loud party-goers on the street and they woke me up. But if I'd kept the window closed and used air conditioning instead, this wouldn't have been a problem.

ROOM: My room (Room III - Double Room for Single Use) was small and cosy but perfect for my needs. It might be a bit too cramped for two people, unless you each have small suitcases! It had a view of the Egyptian Lighthouse which was gorgeous, especially at night. The water from the shower goes everywhere as there is no shower screen, but as long as I laid down a towel to soak up the water, this didn't bother me.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast was included in my room rate and was lovely. A variety of things are on offer, from eggs & toast, to more traditional Cretan-style breakfasts.

STAFF: The staff were all really really nice, especially Eleni who was very welcoming on my arrival. They speak fluent English too, which helps!

All in all, a great stay at Alcanea. Tell your friends.

Room Tip: Room III (Double Room for Single Use) is perfect for one person. It would be too cramped for 2 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vetti81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saundersfoot
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at 1am in the morning, to be greeted by a very warm and welcoming member of staff.
She arranged for someone to help us with our very large baggage, and showed us to our lovely room. Breakfast was served outside on a table overlooking the old port. Freshly squeezed orange juice,coffee of your choice, Greek yogurt with honey, fresh fruit, eggs of your choice. It set us up for the day. We enjoyed a drink in the evening sitting outside the hotel watching people passing by. We stayed at a number of hotels on our trip, but I think this was definitely our favourite, mainly due to the standard of the staff service, and friendliness.

Room Tip: We had the smallest room in the hotel, which was the cheapest, but it was more than adequate, it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and couldn't be happier with this hotel.
Very clean, well maintained and simply wonderful staff.
The hotel is in the middle of Old town Chania, but you would never know it.
Lovely views, great food and an excellent atmosphere.

The entire staff were tremendous, extremely helpful and make the place special.
Excellent breakfast, complementary minibar, and the intimacy of a true boutique hotel.

Congratulations to Alicia and the great team at Alcanea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here 1 night at the end of our vaccation. We booked it after looked in to the reviews at tripadvisor and it was better then we expected. Fantastic place with wonderful staff and service. The location is the best. We love to come back to this paradise. This will be the place we will go back to when we visit Crete the next time and then we gonna spend all of our time at this lovely little jewel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommySwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Alcanea for just one day. We made a reservation through Booking.com and we got an email from Alcanea that confirmed our stay, In the email it said that we booked the smallest room and that they welcomed us.
When we arrived the girl at the front desk was so nice, she said to us that we had the smallest room and that we might think it was very small because we were so tall. We had a good laugh but the room was GREAT although it was small it had everything that we needed, it was clean, cosy and had great interior.
The girl at the front desk was very helpful and told us a lot about Chania and recomended a few restaurants.
Alcanea also serves some food, therefore we had a quick lunch when we arrived and had club sandwich and crete sallad, the food was excellent! And everyone in the staff was so nice.

We wished that we would had stayed for a few more days, the breakfast was also great, the guy who made coffees made a awesome cappuccino.

If we go to chania again we would defentaly stay at Alcanea!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are great, they only have 8 rooms so make sure u reserve the room in good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a hidden treasure!

Overall customer experience and service are exceptional. Easily accessible & extremely friendly staff, that will do whatever is possible to keep you satisfied.

Location of the hotel is fantastic. Is located right at the (busy) old harbour but at the same time is a very peaceful place to stay.

We stayed at room 4 (IV) for 6 nights and at room 2 (II) for one night.

Room 4 was spacious and well decorated. Bed was huge and mattress was of good quality.

Room 2 was much smaller but has a better view (and of course is cheaper than Room 4).

Breakfast is excellent.

Wine bar of the hotel is getting busy at night and might be tricky to find a free table. Has a good selection of decent Cretan wines with very good prices (most of them around13euro).

This place is highly recommended, especially for people looking for distinctive luxury (out of the big hotel chains).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#7 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#5 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcanea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Property: Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Agelou | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcanea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Alcanea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcanea Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing