We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, and we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 107 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it, and we'll be back!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This small hotel is perfectly situated at the end of the Chania, Crete, old harbor front. It overlooks the entire harbor, but is away from the noisy night life of the harbor cafes and restaurants. The hotel has only a limited number of rooms; we booked a Superior Double, but was offered a free upgrade to a Suite. This was excellent in all ways (although only a very large room with a double bed and a sofa / chair / lounge section, but a really great bath room). One particular advantage of this hotel is the exceptionally kind and warm hotel receptionists who took care of us and promptly arranged our often difficult wishes of car reservations, tours / excursions and advise on local trips and sites. Also, the breakfast was notable, served in front of the hotel (inside, in case it's to hot outside), with everything freshly made and arranged. As said, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Check at the arrival (or before at the hotel's booking site) if there are rooms free. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    35
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
61
268
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

On July 3rd, 2011 my wife and I found ourselves hunting for a hotel on Crete's popular Old Town Chania Venician port.

As these hotels don't have elevators (nor would you want to ruin their charm with one) my sore back and my wife's unsettled stomoch weren't about to deal with hunting from hotel to hotel, not to mention loads of steps to get to upper floor rooms.

Fortunately, we were referred to the Alcanea Boutique Hotel by one of it's competitors who didn't have a room for us. But as Creten's are warm and friendly, not to mention most hospitable, these little hotels in old Chania work with each other to keep business close and customers happy.

We were greeted warmly by a staff of 2 ladies and one gentleman who were happy to show us the room they had. It was on what we in the states call the second floor (in Europe, it's the first floor as you enter at ground level). They staff told us this hotel had only been opened a couple of months due to a remodel and the building was 400-500 years old.

Upon entering the room, I lost my wife who's eyes at this point were as wide open with joy as I've ever seen. It was a huge room that made the wonderfully comfortable king size bed look small. The very high ceilings (I'm guessing over 12 feet) were supported by tastfully painted walls. The floor, which I'm guessing were the original wide wooden planks had been painted in a very dark brown but no sanding to cover the age old wear and divots left from hundreds of years from use were a charm to walk on.

At this point, I need to mention this was the most comforable bed and pillows I've ever slept on in Greece, bar none! Then you wake up the next morning feeling well rested to enjoy being served a wondrful breakfast made for you from a list you've picked from the night before, included fresh fruit, fresh squeezed juice and freshly cooked food.

There were also plenty of power sockets to accomodate any travler's power or recharging needs, something a little hard to find in much of Europe.

The long bathroom was also an eye opener. Who ever kept a warm Venician appearence to the hotel and surrounding didn't want you to forget this is the 21st Century. A modern vanity surrounded a world class bathroom sink and faucet leading to a modern, roomy comfortable shower to wash off Crete's warm somewhat humid climate. There were plenty of towel hooks to hang all your 'stuff' on as well.

In the blink of an eye that took us to say we'd stay, the staff (ladies mind you) grabbed our 3 over 50 lb bags plus 2 carry-on's and insisted on taking them to our new digs. I've never had this service before. Everyone could not have made our stay more comfortable then what we experienced at Alcanea. They even took great joy in helping me with my lousy Greek... wonderful teachers.

Ok, so I've gotten carried away. Well, I should.

This hotel is a value. Crete's Alcanea Boutique Hotel should be on your list of places to stay on your next trip to Chania. Thank you Staff....one and all.

R.T. & L.T.

Room Tip: Be open to using some stairs. You'll understand why.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphthegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Alcanea right near the harbour is one of the classiest boutique hotel in old town.
İt is an atmospherical 17th century Venetian Mansion,respectfully transformed in to an
exclusive hotel.The setting is gorgeos and the wiev are fantastic too.
The manager, Aliki, was very friendly and hospitality and the staff were very attentive
and friendly.
We loved our two night stay and also town of Chania. Alcanea is everything and more
than you could ever want...
Dont miss it !!...
Ayşen, İstanbul

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This newly renovated palazzo has spacious rooms, very high ceilings and modern bathrooms. The views to the sea are fantastic. Great service too! Wish we stayed longer. Parking is two blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

i have stayed in many hotels in crete but this is the most friendly and well
located. the views are wonderful. because of the unique location, they have
managed have 3 differing views, one of the port, the castle and the lighthouse.
rooms and bath facilities are spacious. decor is excellent, bar is fully
stacked and service very friendly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmavroudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We arrived in Chania on a business trip in late May. After searching for a place with good atmosphere, I spotted Alcaena Hotel.The nearly renovated building was having a reopening the weekend we arrived.The friendly staff made it possible for us to stay
there for the opening day.Tasteful rooms where they had been able to preserve the old
building with a modern look. Lastly, I warmly recommend the serviceminded staff .They
did everything to make sure that we were having a good time.
I recommend Alcaena to everyboody............Tom from Norway.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Alcanea and absolutely loved every minute of it! It's a hotel that has been recently renovated and you can tell that the owners have put a lot of effort and love on it. Our room had a private balcony looking at the old port and we just couldn't get enough of the view!!! Very cozy and romantic! Breakfast was rich and delicious and all the staff very friendly, making you feel like home! The hotel has also a Cafe-Wine Bar at the ground floor, the best place to sip a glass of wine and relax while looking at the old port. We feel like we've made very good friends there and we will definitely go back for our next vacation!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 108 in Chania Town
850 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 108 in Chania Town
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#8 of 108 in Chania Town
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcanea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Property: Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Agelou | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcanea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alcanea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcanea Boutique Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing