We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hot day in Hania”
Review of Michalis Taverna

Michalis Taverna
Ranked #127 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: $9 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Michalis Restaurant, the most famous old harbour restaurant,is unique in offering the best of both local traditional and international cusine. Relax and enjoy lovingly prepared delicious dishes are waiting to be tasted.A terrific place to stop off for a tasty bite and a chance to enjoy first-class dishes in extremely good prices. There is a wonterful, friendly, easy-going atmosphere, becoming quite romantic at sunset as purple and orange colors surround the splendid old venetian harbor of Chania. The attitude of the staff and their quick, warm and friendly service will create the ideal ambience. Besides the food an extensive list of excellent local wines is waiting for your choice. You just found the ideal place to enjoy your lunch or dinner!!!!
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hot day in Hania”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went to Hania for walk around and meal. Loads of restaurants. We were lucky to pick one of the best. Great value seafood platter for two for 18 euros, preceded unexpectedly by a large free salad. We finished the two courses but were then given a free sweet. Getting up to leave, we were persuaded to stay by the most amiable staff and a drink of ice cold raki was put before us. Ok , the place wasn't that busy, but the pleasant waiter and waitress were helpfull and chatted away if you wanted to. You sit and eat as the boats sail in and out of the harbour. This was the best meal we had in Crete, and will be revisited next year I hope.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    91
    37
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good service, nice view but okay food”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The waiter and waitress there are really good at greeting potential customers, and take time to explain what they could offer and why they could not do exactly what we wanted. The restaurant has a very nice view facing the harbor. We ordered moussaka and fried calamari. Moussaka was okay, not as tasty as the other ones that I had in Kalamaki. But it was with a decent size, with two slice a tomatoes and a tiny portion of greens. The calamari was not very good, although it is hot. It was not as crispy as it should be. The prices are reasonable in the restaurant. Ice cream with warm chocolate cake, and cold raki are given at the end of the meal free of charge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wei1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant based on some reviews ... But it's just another average restaurant among the many on the harbor. I felt like the dish I ordered I could have purchased at a diner. My fried codfish was cold as well as the mashed potatoes. My boyfriend had calamari that was burnt and undercooked all at once. Overall didn't feel very happy with the meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kami_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great taverna great view. What could be better than sitting watching the sun set round the harbour, eating a good meal. Has to be tried.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank janieChania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Opted for this restaurant as one of the top 30 recommended by tripadvisor. Found it very average, service, food and quality of experience very mediocre. It certainly has one of the best locations for eating a meal, just a shame that by the time we visited, end of season, everything seemed very tired, especially the attitude of the waiters. Wouldn't recommend or return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michalis Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Michalis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing