We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go hungry before your visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kouzina e.p.e.

Kouzina e.p.e.
Ranked #4 of 403 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go hungry before your visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Fresh, Friendly and Fast... is how I would describe my experience today. I wanted to try everything on the Menu but could only manage one dish. I had the lemon cod and my wife the roast pork both with overn potatoes which were cooked perfectly. Together with a salad it was a superb lunch time meal. If you want to sample Cretan cuisine this is the place and I would strongly recommend a visit if you are in Chania. Meal for 2 with beers cost €24. Dessert and Tsihoudia on the house and service was excellent.If I was staying one more day I would visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    166
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find! Cretan home cooking and real atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Found this place completely by chance on side streets to the south east of the town centre. The food is on display in a fridge and big pots; you point to what you want, with half and full portions available. You might be able to squeeze one and a half portions each in total if you are big eaters. We ate in a tree-shaded courtyard at the back.
It is earthy food, with lots of fresh vegetables and rice and friendly service, with more than a smattering of English for us non-Greek speakers. The food was delivered to us (the table groaned with the quantity) with the instruction "Attack, attack, attack!". An especially nice touch was the baby carafe of Raki firewater, offered as we finished our plates.
This isn't tourist stuff, the place is full of Greeks, enjoying it as much as we did.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great variety of real Cretan home made food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

THE place to be for your lunch!
The food is excellent, tastes like REAL home made Cretan food!!!
The service is like an old Greek taverna!!!
You see the food, they explain the details, YOU decide....!

Excellent job Manolis!!! Keep on the good work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best choice in Chania town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant a dozen times and each time we really enjoyed the food. The concept of this family restaurant is simple : Every morning, the owner Mrs Despina, an experienced & talented cook, prepares fresh and delicious traditional as well as ethnic dishes and her son Manolis is taking care of their customers with a genuine smile. After the meal is finished they offer a small bottle of tsikoudia and a Delicious panna cotta, on the house! The prices are good, we usually payed 16-18€ total , without drinks. Our best restaurant in Chania.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karina_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where the locals go for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you want to taste what Cretans actually eat at home that's the place to go. Many choices of cooked meals in display for the customer to choose, meat, fish, salads, vegetarian dishes and a good house wine. The stuff is friendly and the service fast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eliakou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kouzina e.p.e. also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Parigoria, Chania Town
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kouzina e.p.e.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing