We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible, horrible, horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selini Restaurant - CLOSED

Selini Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Horrible, horrible, horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Really wish we'd seen the reviews before being conned to go in this place - but of course we couldn't because, as previous reviews have mentioned, there is no sign above it. The guy outside charmed us to go there as we walked by one day (we're from Wales so he made out he knew Wales - not so sure now), so we did the next day - & he promptly all but ignored us. A waiter suggested a mezze so we thought why not - it was ok, but we were appalled to be charged nearly €40 for what was just one small plate of food. Also as previously commented on, this place lets all the other amazing restaurants (& even the average ones) down.

Our tip: the better the view, the worse the food. They're ok for a drink, taking in the view, but for great food, seek out the ones hidden away in the back streets.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah_Watts-Peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    1
    4
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glad to avoid it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed very close to this restaurant and had to loop round close to the water's edge to avoid the salesman's attentions as we returned to our hotel. Instinctively avoided it, though could easily have been lured in. One further thought: it's not easy to ascertain the name of the restaurant by just looking at it. There seems to be no sign in English and I had to ask a waiter to find out what it was called. Only then was I able to look it up on Tripadvisor. All part of the plan, I guess. A disgrace which taints the reputation of all the good restaurants nearby, including the excellent Strata, Tamam and Amphora all within a five-minute walk.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Rob186291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible lunch, awful resturant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Have just read all the reviews below, and wish we had seen them before we went for lunch! Service was awful, the staff trying to lure people off the street seem lovely when you're talking to them on the waterfront, but that changess as soon as you have sat down! Traditional dishes double the price that we have been paying for them else where, and the food was such a disapointment, particularly after some of the fantastic meals we have had this holiday. We asked before the meal if we could pay by card, and were told yes, but when it came to paying the waiter told us cash only, so my mum had to walk to the 'nearest' cash point which was about a 4 minute walk away. I could go on about the terrible service and worse food, but all that really needs saying is dont go, you will regret it!

Lesson learnt: the blackboards outside advertised food, but with no prices! Other resturants advertise their deals, unfortunately we only noticed this after!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Avoid this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I haven't been to this restaurant but just because the salesman was so annoying I give this place a "terrible".

Is unbelievable that restaurants use these cheap techniques to fool customers.This place is a disgrace for Chania.

Avoid it!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andreas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by Sales man at the door!! Worst restaurant, worst food, worst service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We were walking down the harbour area in Chania where we were approached by the "sales man" at the door of Selini where he went on that the lamb they used for Kleftiko is from their farm, that they have the best food in Chania etc. All lies! Don't be fooled by his free bottle of wine offer, or dessert, or anything else. Mains are €15-20 each...absolute rip off. DO NOT EAT HERE!

Ps I am a Greek living in Australia, and I come to Greece regularly. I have never experienced such bad food and service in Greece in all my life.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Alexi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selini Restaurant also viewed

Parigoria, Chania Town
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing