We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality and hassle free” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amphora Taverna

Amphora Taverna
Ranked #35 of 403 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good quality and hassle free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The gorgeous Venitian Harbour in Chania is stunning and is surrounded by numerous restaurants and bars, however, it is being ruined by restaurant workers hassling you to go in to their establishments and at times it was nearly aggressive, so when we walked past the Amphora Restaurant and we received no hassle we looked at their menu and saw a full restaurant, we went in.
I am glad we did, the seafood was fresh and a good price and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant where the food was good and you were treated well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RickandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    380
    136
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lovely restaurant in the lovely town of Chania.
The food was very good, the service exellent, the atmosphere very relaxed, and the view - well, breathtaking.
Definatley a place to visit and return to!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaya33595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were 4 people. We tried the lamb chops and a fried sea food mix that was great.
They also gave us a watermelon and a Greek treat On the house.
Overall a very good meal with a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrenBrumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We dined at this restaurant two or three times over our six day stay in Chania. What we loved most about it was the fact that you are not in any way pushed to come into their restaurant like so many of the others in the old Venetian port. The food is very good and reasonably priced. After your dinner they serve you a small dessert and raki on the house which is a very nice gift.

The servers are very courteous gentleman and were very knowledgable about the menu and gave good advice on what to try.

Would high recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good food, great prices, wonderful service! The view ain't bad either! The first meal was so good we came back the next night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amphora Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing