We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Amphora Restaurant

Amphora Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 424 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lovely restaurant in the lovely town of Chania.
The food was very good, the service exellent, the atmosphere very relaxed, and the view - well, breathtaking.
Definatley a place to visit and return to!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yaya33595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    420
    154
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nahariya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were 4 people. We tried the lamb chops and a fried sea food mix that was great.
They also gave us a watermelon and a Greek treat On the house.
Overall a very good meal with a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrenBrumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We dined at this restaurant two or three times over our six day stay in Chania. What we loved most about it was the fact that you are not in any way pushed to come into their restaurant like so many of the others in the old Venetian port. The food is very good and reasonably priced. After your dinner they serve you a small dessert and raki on the house which is a very nice gift.

The servers are very courteous gentleman and were very knowledgable about the menu and gave good advice on what to try.

Would high recommend!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good food, great prices, wonderful service! The view ain't bad either! The first meal was so good we came back the next night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

After reading good reviews we decided to give Amphora a try and were very pleased we did. We found the harbour restaurants very touristy and off putting when the people outside try to lure you in with the promise of the best food. But approaching this particular restaurant it was hassle free and a pleasure for us to walk in at our own free will.

Surprisingly the menu has many local dishes and a good variety of vegatarian food which suited us. We ordered a vegaratian platter for two consisting of homemade stuffed vegatables with salad and a side order of sardines, all the food was tasty and we came back three times to eat here.

Lovely harbour view and great for people watching. The staff were attentive and very friendly, would definately recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amphora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing